New York Station

New York Station

by Lawrence Dudley

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

A World War II–era spy thriller with uncanny relevance to today's real-life political intrigue.



In June 1940--eighteen months before Pearl Harbor--Anglo-American MI6 agent Roy Hawkins is mysteriously rushed from Nazi-occupied Paris to New York. Enraged at being ordered away from what he believes is the real fight against Nazism and Fascism, he wants to get back to Paris as soon as possible, even though he knows it means almost certain death.



In New York he is shocked and sickened to encounter a now alien America increasingly dominated by right-wing extremists, including a new radio celebrity, Walter Ventnor. After a tense encounter with his friend and mentor William Stephenson, he agrees to temporarily pursue a Nazi commercial envoy, Hans Ludwig, and try and stop him from stealing American submarine warfare secrets. Hawkins follows Lugwig to the elite Saratoga racing meeting, where Ludwig is cultivating top American business leaders. There he meets the scion of an ancient and aristocratic New York family, Daisy van Schenck. Fascinated by her after he persuades her to throw Ludwig out of her mansion, which Ludwig has rented, Hawkins finds himself increasingly attracted to Daisy and a different life. When Hawkins discovers a Nazi plot to rig the presidential election, he is forced to choose between duty and the woman he loves.


"A compelling World War Two–era novel which very quickly leads the reader into a world of espionage, drama, and intrigue. New York Station has an authentic feel and the angle of Nazi sympathizers in the USA feels very timely. The story works its way to a strong ending, with a great twist at the very end." --Alex Gerlis, author of the bestselling The Best of Our Spies and other World War Two espionage novels


"A thrilling WWII spy adventure with a classic love-versus-duty story, robust characters, and a nice sense of time and place...A good, solid thriller."-- Booklist


"A multifaceted protagonist who's a refreshing change from formulaic genre leads lifts this gritty spy thriller from Dudley...Fans of Alan Furst and Joseph Kanon will find familiar pleasures." -- Publishers Weekly

Product Details

BN ID: 2940158877872
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Publication date: 01/23/2018
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 566,920
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

A graduate of NYU, Lawrence Dudley has had a variety of careers: assistant museum curator, radio telescope operator, and lead reviewer and feature writer for the Saratogian newspaper, covering the Saratoga Performing Arts Center and its resident companies, the New York City Ballet, New York City Opera, the Philadelphia Orchestra, and special events. Dudley is a media and advertising consultant, a web developer, and a professional political campaign manager. Other works include the novels St. Kilda and Timeshoppers, and a nonfiction book on the intersection of language, culture, and politics, In the Minds of the People.

Customer Reviews