Nothing

Nothing

by Annie Barrows

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Nothing by Annie Barrows

“Remarkable.”—New York Times Book Review

From Annie Barrows, the acclaimed #1 New York Times–bestselling coauthor of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and the author of the award-winning and bestselling Ivy + Bean books, this teen debut tells the story of Charlotte and Frankie, two high school students and best friends who don’t have magical powers, fight aliens, crash their cars, get pierced, or discover they are royal. They just go to school. And live at home. With their parents. A great read for fans of Becky Albertalli, Louise Rennison, and Adi Alsaid.

Nothing ever happens to Charlotte and Frankie. Their lives are nothing like the lives of the girls they read about in their YA novels. They don’t have flowing red hair, and hot romantic encounters never happen—let alone meeting a true soul mate. They just go to high school and live at home with their parents, who are pretty normal, all things considered.

But when Charlotte decides to write down everything that happens during their sophomore year—to prove that nothing happens and there is no plot or character development in real life—she’s surprised to find that being fifteen isn’t as boring as she thought. It’s weird, heartbreaking, silly, and complicated. And maybe, just perfect.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062668257
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 09/05/2017
Sold by: HARPERCOLLINS
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 240
Sales rank: 606,341
File size: 938 KB
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Annie Barrows is a middle-aged lady who doesn’t talk very much, which is why none of the kids who hang out in her house noticed that she was writing down everything they said. She’s like a ninja, except she’s never killed anyone. Okay, okay, she’s also the author of the Ivy + Bean books—remember them? They were fun!—and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. All of which were New York Times bestsellers, if you care about that kind of thing. www.anniebarrows.com

Hometown:

Berkeley, CA

Date of Birth:

August 24, 1962

Place of Birth:

San Diego, CA

Education:

University of California at Berkeley, B.A. in Medieval History; Mills College, M.F.A. in Creative Writing

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Nothing 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
SchizanthusNerd More than 1 year ago
Finally! A book that comes with its own cover story! "What are you reading?" "Nothing." The banter between Frankie and Charlotte hooked me before they'd even finished their first conversation. I loved their friendship! They were both fluent in sarcasm, were self-deprecating and funny. They got frustrated with one another. They knew each other so well and supported each other, even when supporting meant tough love. They were real! The way Frankie and Charlotte talked and thought reminded me of a rapid fire Gilmore Girls script. I could definitely imagine a teenage me being friends with these girls. Nothing unfolded through alternating chapters. Charlotte's first person written account of how nothing interesting ever happens to them was followed by third person prose that focused more on Frankie. This type of format can be hit and miss, but this time it worked for me. There weren't gaping holes in the narrative where you needed to catch up and the changeover between first and third person didn't feel disjointed. I don't exactly know how the author managed it but this book about nothing and how boring it is that nothing ever happens is actually quite interesting and very entertaining. Between the nothingness and the boredom, there are friendships (obviously), families, first kisses, parties, a road trip, drugs, alcohol, school, mobile phones, swearing, a stick figure, driving lessons, and plenty of ridicule aimed at YA book clichés, although not in that order. The style had me believing that this could easily have been written by a teenager. Not in a condescending 'ugh' way, but in a 'the author captured the teenage experience, including the way they talk' way. I'd happily sign up for another instalment of the nothingness and boredom of these girls' lives. Thank you so much to NetGalley and HarperCollins Publishers Australia for the opportunity to read this book. I'll be on the lookout for future releases.
Aditi-ATWAMB More than 1 year ago
In Short: I’m a little surprised that a book titled Nothing that promised me NOTHING surprised me when it was ACTUALLY A BOOK ABOUT NOTHING. (And my feelings are SO MIXED UP.) Before I begin talking about this book, do me a favour and close your eyes. Imagine that you’re texting your best friend in a hurry, with disjointed sentences and things that only make sense 50% of the time. Can you see it? All the ‘likes’ and the ‘OMGs’ and the analogies that make almost no sense because you’re freaking out about something. Have you ever told your best friend that if anyone read your texts, that you’d be committed into a mental institution as well as them because the trauma was irreparable? WELL, THAT’S WHAT READING THIS BOOK WAS LIKE. I feel like I was THROWN into a TWO HUNDRED PAGE TEXTING THING BETWEEN TWO BEST FRIENDS and I feel TRAUMATIZED as I come out on the other side. “Then that a****** Kellen comes over and starts leaning over Cora, right in front of Frankie. What the f***? He doesn’t know Frankie likes him? He’s a d***. And Cora’s squealing, ‘Get away, get awaaaay.’” Honestly, I WAS SO ANNOYED WITH THE WAY THIS ENTIRE BOOK WAS WRITTEN. It was disjointed, horrid and made me feel like someone with obscenely long nails was scratching their way up a blackboard. Nothing is told in alternate points of view between Charlotte and Frankie, two fifteen year old best friends with who get like ‘two hundred texts a day’ but ‘nothing’ ever happens to them and ALL THE COMPLAINTS ABOUT THEIR LIVES. Despite the fact that I read this book in less than a day, I kept thinking about how I WOULDN’T BE READING this book if it wasn’t a review copy. I just feel like despite I LOVE the Young Adult Genre, there are books like Nothing that I’ve outgrown and honestly, shouldn’t be reading. I didn’t enjoy this book at all, and I’m going to go and read something I know I’ll love right now! 2 stars.
KateUnger More than 1 year ago
When I saw that Annie Barrow had written a new YA book, I bought the Audible version immediately. I love The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, which Annie helped write. And while I didn’t love The Truth According to Us, I had to know what Barrows would do in the YA realm. The premise of this book is that nothing exciting ever happens in real life, like it does in YA fiction books. Charlotte is determined to prove this point by keeping a journal of her sophomore year of high school. It’s a pretty short book, and it mostly chronicles Charlotte’s friendship with Frankie. The book alternates between segments of Charlotte’s book, Nothing, and real life – told in 3rd person. It was a little hard to keep straight what was happening in real time and what Charlotte was writing. Perhaps different fonts are used in the print version? Anyway, something does kind of happen in the book even though it’s called Nothing, but it is rather uneventful, which shouldn’t have been surprising to me, right? Given the premise of the book. I don’t know. I didn’t love this one. It may have been all the swearing. (There is a lot.) Or the drug use. (There is some.) I don’t know. I thought maybe for once a YA book might actually reflect what my teenage years were like, but even though these two girls were supposed to be super boring, they were still more rebellious than I was at 15. It’s a cute friendship story with a road trip and first romance, but it wasn’t as great as I was hoping. http://opinionatedbooklover.com/review-nothing-annie-barrows/