On Leopard Rock: A Life of Adventures

On Leopard Rock: A Life of Adventures

by Wilbur Smith
On Leopard Rock: A Life of Adventures

On Leopard Rock: A Life of Adventures

by Wilbur Smith


    Temporarily Out of Stock Online
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


The first ever memoir from the Number One global bestselling adventure author

Wilbur Smith has lived an incredible life of adventure, and now he shares the extraordinary true stories that have inspired his fiction. I've been writing novels for over fifty years. I was lucky enough to miss the big wars and not get shot, but lucky enough to grow up among the heroes who had served in them and learn from their example. I have lucked into things continuously. I have done things which have seemed appalling at the time,disastrous even, but out of them have come another story or a deeper knowledge of human character and the ability to express myself better on paper, write books which people enjoy reading. Along the way, I have lived a life that I could never have imagined. I have been privileged to meet people from all corners of the globe, I have been wherever my heart has desired and in the process my books have taken readers to many, many places. I always say I've started wars, I've burned down cities, and I've killed hundreds of thousands of people - but only in my imagination! From being attacked by lions to close encounters with deadly reef sharks, from getting lost in the African bush without water to crawling the precarious tunnels of gold mines, from marlin fishing with Lee Marvin to near death from crash-landing a Cessna airplane, from brutal schooldays to redemption through writing and falling in love, Wilbur Smith tells us the intimate stories of his life that have been the raw material for his fiction. Always candid, sometimes hilarious, and never less than thrillingly entertaining, On Leopard Rock is testament to a writer whose life is as rich and eventful as his novels are compellingly unputdownable.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781499861242
Publisher: Bonnier Zaffre
Publication date: 05/01/2018
Pages: 352
Product dimensions: 6.50(w) x 9.25(h) x 1.40(d)

About the Author

Wilbur Smith was born in Central Africa in 1933. He became a full-time writer in 1964 following the success of When the Lion Feeds, and has since published over fifty global bestsellers, including the Courtney Series, the Ballantyne Series, the Egyptian Series, the Hector Cross Series and many successful standalone novels, all meticulously researched on his numerous expeditions worldwide. An international phenomenon, his readership built up over fifty-five years of writing, establishing him as one of the most successful and impressive brand authors in the world.
The establishment of the Wilbur & Niso Smith Foundation in 2015 cemented Wilbur's passion for empowering writers, promoting literacy and advancing adventure writing as a genre. The foundation's flagship programme is the Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize.

Wilbur Smith passed away peacefully at home in 2021 with his wife, Niso, by his side, leaving behind him a rich treasure-trove of novels and stories that will delight readers for years to come. For all the latest information on Wilbur Smith's writing visit www.wilbursmithbooks.com or facebook.com/WilburSmith

Table of Contents

Chapter 1 Twilight 1

Chapter 2 Lions in the Night 11

Chapter 3 This Child's Life 21

Chapter 4 This Boys Life 57

Chapter 5 This Student's Life 71

Chapter 6 This Underworld Lif 79

Chapter 7 The Law is an Ass 95

Chapter 8 This Seafaring Life 109

Chapter 9 This High-Flying Life 125

Chapter 10 This Hollywood Life 143

Chapter 11 This Hero's Life 169

Chapter 12 This Hunting Life 185

Chapter 13 This African Life 195

Chapter 14 This Desert Life 229

Chapter 15 This American Life 247

Chapter 16 This Diving Life 267

Chapter 17 This Writing Life 295

Appendix The Monarch of the Ilungu 317

Index 321

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews