One Dozen Berrys/New Juke Box Hits

One Dozen Berrys/New Juke Box Hits

by Chuck Berry Chuck Berry


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, November 1


Just in case MCA's latest Chuck Berry anthology isn't sufficiently diverting, this CD from England's Beat Goes on Records, containing remastered versions of his second and fifth LPs, is a good place to start looking further into his Chess Records history. Apart from their intrinsic musical merits, between them, these albums -- his first two LP releases in England -- provided the British bands of the early '60s a big chunk of their repertory, the Rolling Stones alone pulling no less than three of their early songs from Juke Box Hits. The charted hits -- "Sweet Little Sixteen," "Reelin' & Rockin'," "Rock & Roll Music" -- speak for themselves, but there's a lot more music to enjoy here that usually doesn't make it onto any compilations: "Oh Baby Doll," a brash, stomping account of teenage life and romance that has somehow been overlooked for 40-some years; the instrumentals "Rocking at the Philharmonic," "Ingo," "Low Feeling," and "Guitar Boogie" (the source for the Yardbirds' "Jeff's Boogie"); the slow blues numbers "How You've Changed," "Sweet Sixteen," "Away From You," and "Stop and Listen"; the high-wattage Elmore James-inspired "Run Around"; the rollicking hillbilly flavored "It Don't Take but a Few Minutes"; "I'm Talking About You," a rocked-up adaptation of a Memphis Minnie number; the cocky Tampa Red adaptation "Don't You Lie to Me"; and his pounding rendition of the Nat "King" Cole hit "(Get Your Kicks On) Route 66." Not everything worked, such as the attempts to turn Berry into a crooner aimed at the teen market on "Diploma for Two" and "The Way It Was Before," although "Little Star" is pretty in a rough-hewn way. The remastering brings out all kinds of nuances in Berry's playing and also the bass and drums that were only suggested in earlier editions of these albums, but the clarity doesn't detract from the punch of the finished recordings.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 01/01/2003
Label: Bgo - Beat Goes On
UPC: 5017261204585
catalogNumber: 458
Rank: 72534


  1. Sweet Little Sixteen
  2. Blue Feeling
  3. Lajaunda
  4. Rocking at the Philharmonic
  5. Oh Baby Doll
  6. Guitar Boogie
  7. Reelin' & Rockin'
  8. Ingo
  9. Rock & Roll Music
  10. How You've Changed
  11. Low Feeling
  12. It Don't Take But a Few Minutes
  13. I'm Talking About You
  14. Diploma for Two
  15. Thirteen Question Method
  16. Away from You
  17. Don't You Lie to Me
  18. The Way It Was Before
  19. Little Star
  20. Route 66
  21. Sweet Sixteen
  22. Run Around
  23. Stop and Listen
  24. Rip It Up

Album Credits

Customer Reviews