Open Season: True Stories of the Maine Warden Service

Open Season: True Stories of the Maine Warden Service

by Daren Worcester


$15.26 $16.95 Save 10% Current price is $15.26, Original price is $16.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, February 20

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781608936472
Publisher: Down East Books
Publication date: 04/01/2017
Pages: 232
Sales rank: 391,777
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Daren Worcester is a native of Hanover, Maine, and a graduate of the University of Maine. He has been published in Backpacker and Down East magazines, and he runs the website This is his first book. Daren lives in New Hampshire with his family.

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments vii

Introduction ix

Chapter 1 Welcome to the Maine Warden Service 1

Chapter 2 Four-Finger Pete and the Pulp-Hook Poacher 15

Chapter 3 Ice-Out 23

Chapter 4 The Unfrozen 41

Chapter 5 The Wild Man of Fourth Machias Lake 51

Chapter 6 Stuck in the Mud 65

Chapter 7 Aroostook County Search Warrant 71

Chapter 8 What Happened to Ludger Belanger? 77

Chapter 9 Eyes in the Sky 113

Chapter 10 Dead Man Walking 121

Chapter 11 Sunk 131

Chapter 12 The Game Farm Poachers 141

Chapter 13 A Catch for Satan 153

Chapter 14 To Catch 'Em, Join 'Em 161

Chapter 15 Spider Lake Rescue 165

Chapter 16 The Boy Who Wandered Off 175

Chapter 17 The Undercover Warden 183

Chapter 18 Rolfe Brook Smelt Run 193

Chapter 19 Better Luck Next Year 199

Chapter 20 David Versus Goliath (And His Chainsaw) 209

About the Author 217

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews