Our Point of View

Our Point of View

by Blue Note All-Stars


$12.79 $13.99 Save 9% Current price is $12.79, Original price is $13.99. You Save 9%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 28


The debut album from the second iteration of the Blue Note All-Stars, 2017's Our Point of View is an ambitious, highly rewarding double-disc set from the 21st century jazz supergroup. Brought together by Blue Note president and album co-producer Don Was, this version of the Blue Note All-Stars features pianist and album co-producer Robert Glasper, trumpeter Ambrose Akinmusire, saxophonist Marcus Strickland, guitarist/vocalist Lionel Loueke, bassist Derrick Hodge, and drummer Kendrick Scott. Each a highly gifted and well-respected solo artist in his own right, together they've come up with an album that avoids the normal clichés of building an all-star supergroup. Rather than play a loose set of well-worn standards, the Blue Note All-Stars focus on original compositions that highlight their own maverick, individualist tendencies. Thankfully, they also play wonderfully as an ensemble and are able to zero in on a sound that works for each member as part of the greater whole. Cuts like Scott's "Cycling Through Reality" and Hodge's "Second Light" have a flowing architecture that balances a roiling, avant-garde improvisational flair with tightly wound contemporary rhythms. Elsewhere, Glasper offers the sprightly "Bayyinah," his kaleidoscopic introductory phrases giving way to a propulsive, psychedelic-tinged jam. Particularly engaging are the several tracks centered on Loueke, including Hodge's gorgeously lyrical, folk-inflected "Message of Hope," in which Loueke geminates his guitar and voice to haunting effect. In contrast, the guitarist's own "Freedom Dance" is a funky hip-hop and Afro-beat-infused jam full of spring-wound electric bass and serpentine effects-dipped improvisations. Interestingly, the only jazz standard that makes the cut is the group's swaggering reading of Wayne Shorter's "Witch Hunt," in which Akinmusire and Strickland evince the post-bop dynamism of Shorter and trumpeter Freddie Hubbard on the original recording, while also pushing the song in their own idiosyncratic directions. In beautiful recognition of Shorter's storied history with the label, they also bring the legendary saxophonist on board for a lush rendition of his classical-leaning, Rhodes keyboard-steeped composition "Masquelero" (originally off Miles Davis' 1967 non-Blue Note album Sorcerer). Joining him is fellow Blue Note legend pianist Herbie Hancock. Perhaps taking a cue from Shorter and Hancock's own maverick, forward-looking career trajectories, with Our Point of View the Blue Note All-Stars have crafted an album that balances a love for the Blue Note label's history with their own deeply creative and endlessly engaging artistic voices.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/29/2017
Label: Blue Note Records
UPC: 0602557774917
catalogNumber: 002709202
Rank: 47206

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Blue Note All-Stars   Primary Artist
Herbie Hancock   Piano
Wayne Shorter   Soprano Saxophone
Derrick Hodge   Electric Bass,Upright Bass,Group Member
Marcus Strickland   Tenor Saxophone,Group Member
Robert Glasper   Piano,fender rhodes,Group Member
Lionel Loueke   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Kendrick Scott   Drums,Group Member
Ambrose Akinmusire   Trumpet,Group Member

Technical Credits

Wayne Shorter   Composer
Don Was   Producer
Bruce Lundvall   Liner Notes
Derrick Hodge   Composer
Marcus Strickland   Composer
Robert Glasper   Composer,Producer
Lionel Loueke   Composer
Kendrick Scott   Composer
Ambrose Akinmusire   Composer
Keith Lewis   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews