Out to Lunch

Out to Lunch

by Stacey Ballis

Paperback

$15.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Out to Lunch by Stacey Ballis

A touching and hilarious novel from the fabulous Stacey Ballis about best friends, true love, and the joy of food—for fans of Jen Lancaster, Jennifer Weiner, and Emily Giffin...

Jenna has lost her best friend.

With Aimee gone so tragically young, Jenna barely knows where to turn. Aimee was the one who always knew what to do—not to mention what to wear. The two built a catering company together and had so much in common—well, except their taste in men. Jenna never understood what the successful, sophisticated Aimee saw in Wayne, with his Star Wars obsession and harebrained business schemes.

And gained her best friend’s husband…


But Aimee has left a shocking last request: Jenna now has financial custody of the not-so-merry widower. True, Wayne needs someone sensible around to keep him under control, but what was her dear departed friend thinking?

The thing is, as she gets to know Wayne better, his latest moneymaking idea actually starts to intrigue her. Her attractive new lawyer boyfriend doesn’t approve of it—but then, Wayne doesn’t approve of her attractive new lawyer boyfriend. Now Jenna has to figure out what direction her life is going to take next. And she can’t help asking herself: What would Aimee do?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780425265499
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 12/03/2013
Pages: 416
Sales rank: 641,545
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Stacey Ballis is the author of ten foodie novels: Inappropriate MenSleeping OverRoom for ImprovementThe Spinster SistersGood Enough to EatOff the MenuOut to LunchRecipe for DisasterWedding Girl, and How to Change a Life. She is a contributing author to three nonfiction anthologies: Girls Who Like Boys Who Like BoysEverything I Needed to Know About Being a Girl I Learned from Judy Blume, and Living Jewishly.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

Praise for OUT TO LUNCH
"Ballis delves again into foodie women’s lit with flavorful results. Some of the story's pleasure derives from the sheer Pinterest-quality abundance of goods—cookies, cashmere and Chicago restaurants abound. A recipe index is offered for aspiring chefs. But Ballis has real things to say about relationships and grief, and at its best, this book is honest and touching. A cozy meal, with dessert."—Kirkus Reviews
"A unique and satisfying story which slowly gains momentum like a carefully cooked meal."—Booklist“Heartfelt and hilarious….A deeply satisfying look at food, friendships and the families you create for yourself when you need them most.”—Jen Lancaster, author of The Tao of Martha and Here I go Again"A sparkling, heartwarming novel with all the elements of a can't-put-it-down read—a heroine you'll root for, unexpected plot twists, and dangerously good descriptions of food!"—Sarah Pekkanen, author of The Best of Us
"A funny and heartfelt tale of friendship, food, and how difficult it can be to open yourself up to love, you’ll want to devour Out to Lunch in one delicious bite. This is Stacey Ballis at her witty and chef-tastic best."Amy Hatvany, author of Heart Like Mine and Best Kept Secret

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Out to Lunch 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just completed Out to Lunch and Stacey Ballis did not disappoint. Her last book was excellent too. I would love to see Stacey write more than one book a year, or maybe write a sequel to this book or the last. Keep up the great work! I am looking forward to the next book my Chicago neighbor.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book but think I gained 10 lbs reading it :) It was a fun book and I found myself reading at every opportunity! Highly recommend!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very cute