ISBN-10:
0147516919
ISBN-13:
9780147516916
Pub. Date:
Publisher:
Outrun the Moon

Outrun the Moon

by Stacey Lee

Paperback(Reprint)

$11.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 23

Overview

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Downstairs Girl comes an unforgettable story of determination set against a backdrop of devastating tragedy, perfect for fans of Code Name Verity.

Winner of the PEN Center USA Literary Award for Young Adult

Winner of the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature
 
Fifteen-year-old Mercy Wong is determined to break from the poverty of Chinatown, San Francisco in 1906, and an education at St. Clare’s School for Girls is her best hope. Although St. Clare’s is off-limits to all but the wealthiest white girls, Mercy gains admittance through a mix of cunning and a little bribery, only to discover that getting in was the easiest part. Not to be undone by a bunch of spoiled heiresses, Mercy stands strong—until disaster strikes.

On April 18, a historic earthquake rocks San Francisco, destroying Mercy’s home and school. Now she’s forced to wait with her classmates for their families in a temporary park encampment. Though fires might rage, and the city may be in shambles, Mercy can’t sit by while they wait for the army to bring help—she still has the “bossy” cheeks that mark her as someone who gets things done. But what can one teenage girl do to heal so many suffering in her broken city?


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780147516916
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date: 05/02/2017
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 416
Sales rank: 51,579
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.20(d)
Age Range: 12 - 17 Years

About the Author

Stacey Lee is the New York Times bestselling author of the novels The Downstairs GirlLuck of the Titanic, Under a Painted Sky and Outrun the Moon, the winner of the PEN Center USA Literary Award for Young Adult Fiction. She is a fourth-generation Chinese American and a founding member of We Need Diverse Books. Born in Southern California, she graduated from UCLA and then got her law degree at UC Davis King Hall. She lives with her family outside San Francisco. You can visit Stacey at staceyhlee.com. Or follow her on Twitter @staceyleeauthor.

Read an Excerpt

In my fifteen years, I have stuck my arm in a vat of slithering eels, climbed all the major hills of San Francisco, and tiptoed over the graves of a hundred souls. Today, I will walk on air.
(Continues…)



Excerpted from "Outrun the Moon"
by .
Copyright © 2017 Stacey Lee.
Excerpted by permission of Penguin Young Readers Group.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Customer Reviews