Pavane for Miss Marcher

Pavane for Miss Marcher

by Leigh Verrill-Rhys

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


1871. The war has been over for six years but Rupe Smith still fights his demons. Ten years have passed since he left his Maine village. His Wyoming ranch is the one place he wants to be and the last place he can be. There is no escape from the guilt of his parents' grief or his longing for the girl whose one letter kept him alive, without knowing she is beyond his reach, married and raising a family.

Cathryn Marcher is not the giddy, giggling girl with high ideals she was before the war. The woman who waited for Rupert Smith's safe return has no doubt she isn't the reason he has finally come home. The haunted expression on his handsome face reminds her of the outcome, the horror and suffering of war she saw close at hand, all those years ago, in the faces of soldiers she nursed in Boston.

Captain Smith and Miss Marcher share a love of music but Cathryn must hide her disappointment when Rupert chooses to sing in harmony with the widow, Mrs. Miller, whom the residents of Oslo Hill believe will be his bride.

Susan Miller's disdain for her voice teacher, her rival for Rupert's love, is matched by Colonel Jericho Colson's loathing for his fellow Union Army officer, his rival for Cathryn's heart.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940158877285
Publisher: Eres
Publication date: 08/15/2017
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 309
File size: 802 KB

About the Author

Leigh Verrill-Rhys is a native of Paris Hill, Maine and the author of four previous novels. Pavane for Miss Marcher is Leigh’s first American Historical novel and her fifth work of fiction. Her third book is also set in her home state, Nights Before: The Novel which is the print edition (2015) of the ‘Twas the Night Before six-novella series published between 2012 and 2013. Leigh’s debut novel, Wait a Lonely Lifetime (April 2012) is an Avalon and Amazon/Montlake publication, set in Florence, Italy, is a story of lost love recovered. Her second novel, Salsa Dancing with Pterodactyls, (2014) is a multicultural, interracial novel of love healing the wounds of corruption, set in San Francisco. Her fourth novel, This Can’t Be Love, is set in Edinburgh during the Fringe Festival for experimental performing artists.

Customer Reviews