Playa Haters

Playa Haters

by Marvin Sease


$12.32 $13.99 Save 12% Current price is $12.32, Original price is $13.99. You Save 12%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, September 28?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Playa Haters

The king of symbolism and double entendre is back and in fine form. The territory is nothing that hasn't been covered before, but that's exactly what makes Sease so simultaneously raunchy and charming. The music and production are par for his course, but people don't purchase Sease records to hear production perfection. They want to hear the man tell it like it is. And while none of these songs reach the brilliance of such classics as "I Ate You for My Breakfast," "Candy Licker," and any of his signature tunes, there are moments where Sease comes close. "Bad Love Affair," the album's opener, starts things off in grand fashion, taking its musical cues from the Southern soul of the '60s and '70s. It's actually a refreshing change for Sease to sing straight up, but that lasts for approximately two songs until "Everything You Eat Ain't Good," which promptly returns to the normally scheduled Marvin Sease album. It's not his finest moment committed to disc, but fans will by no means be disappointed with Playa Haters from start to finish.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/26/2004
Label: Malaco Records
UPC: 0048021751822
catalogNumber: 7518
Rank: 62855

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Marvin Sease   Primary Artist,Vocals
Charles Brown   Keyboards
Gary Armstrong   Trumpet
Larry Byrom   Guitar
Willie James Hatten   Bass Guitar
David Hood   Bass Guitar
Jim Horn   Saxophone
Clayton Ivey   Keyboards
Jimmy Johnson   Guitar
Valeria Kashimuri   Background Vocals
Randy McCormick   Keyboards
James Robertson   Drums
Charles Rose   Trombone
Harvey Thompson   Saxophone
Jim Williamson   Trumpet
Freddy Young   Background Vocals
Michael Russell   Guitar
Steve Maylor   Trumpet
Michael "Mike Dee" Johnson   Guitar
Michael Brown   Saxophone
Jessir Primer   Saxophone
Michael Brown   Saxophone
LaKeisha Burks   Background Vocals
Doug Dumas   Bass Guitar
Ollie Liddell   Trombone
Alonzo Swiggett   Percussion
Michael Johnson   Guitar

Technical Credits

Marvin Sease   Composer
George Jackson   Composer
Richard Cason   Composer
Tommy Couch   Producer
Alan Shulman   Engineer
Wolf Stephenson   Producer,Engineer
Chris Stone   Engineer
Kent Bruce   Engineer
Kevin Lipsey   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews