The Postmortal

The Postmortal

by Drew Magary
4.2 59

Paperback

$12.64 $16.00 Save 21% Current price is $12.64, Original price is $16. You Save 21%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, July 19 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

The Postmortal by Drew Magary

• Finalist for the Philip K. Dick and Arthur C. Clarke Awards 
 
The gripping first novel by Drew Magary, Deadspin columnist, GQ correspondent, and author of The Hike

"An exciting page turner. . . . Drew Magary is an excellent writer. The Postmortal is . . . even more terrifying than zombie apocalypse." — Mark Frauenfelder, Boing Boing

John Farrell is about to get "The Cure."
Old age can never kill him now.
The only problem is, everything else still can . . .

Imagine a near future where a cure for aging is discovered and-after much political and moral debate-made available to people worldwide. Immortality, however, comes with its own unique problems-including evil green people, government euthanasia programs, a disturbing new religious cult, and other horrors. Witty, eerie, and full of humanity, The Postmortal is an unforgettable thriller that envisions a pre-apocalyptic world so real that it is completely terrifying.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780143119821
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 08/30/2011
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 191,668
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 7.70(h) x 0.80(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Drew Magary is a writer for Deadspin, NBC, Maxim, and Kissing Suzy Kolber. He's also written for GQ, New York Magazine, Rolling Stone, ESPN, Yahoo!, Comedy Central, Playboy, Penthouse, and various other media outlets. His first book, Men with Balls, was released in 2008. This is his first novel. He lives in Maryland with his wife and children.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

"A must-read for fans of postmodern dystopia in the vein of Margaret Atwood, Chuck Palahniuk, and Neil Gaiman" —-Library Journal

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Postmortal: A Novel 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 59 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im extremely happy that i stumbled upon this gem of a novel. I couldn't put it down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed The Postmortal. The only thing I found somewhat lacking was a greater in-depth look to the world Drew Magary was building. As the title mentions, I did think this book was great for a time-killer while I was vacationing at the beach and for the plane ride.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I came upon this book and the idea grabbed me instantly. Such a great book and really makes you think. Towards the end it did seem to drag, and did not like the ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved how real it felt to live forever, the honest side of it - good and bad.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Easy, captivating read that creatively brings readers to the realization that life is so sacred, and while short, so very special. 10/10
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I very much like Drew Magary as a comedic blogger on Deadspin, but I think he stumbles in his first attempt to translate that writing style into the novel format. The story itself has a compelling hook (post-mortality), but the novel lacks significant character development and jumps from one superficial plot event to the next without pausing to introspectively contemplate or explain developments in the main character or the world he inhabits. The book is a quick read and the premise of the story is provoking enough to get you through to the finish, but it's just not deep enough to make you really care about the characters or their fates.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Truly Excellent.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's an okay read, but only sporadically clever. The idea for the story is a good one, and got me intrigued enough to buy the book. The first third or so of the book is probably the best because it deals with postmortalism becoming a new reality. Unfortunately, the story starts skipping long periods of the main character's life after that, and too often glosses over just why indefinite lifespans create the conditions that they do, and how people got together to bring about the dystopian future described. For me, this book lacked an engaging flow with the time gaps and the blog/news story chapters. The main character becomes increasingly unlikable throughout the book. You can decide for yourself whether that matters. Magary is also very very fond of similes. Many are strange and somewhat inspired, but too often the abundance of similes served to make the reading tedious and repetitive feeling. It's a thought provoking book, but in the end it fails to capitalize on its own potential.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was really glad I picked this up. Made me think.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very compelling, couldn't stop reading it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago