Precious and Fragile Things

Precious and Fragile Things

by Megan Hart

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

"For readers whose diversionary tastes lie on the dark side." – Publisher's Weekly

She can't stay. He cannot let her go.

Gillian Soloman is not a perfect mother, but when a stranger jumps into her car and holds her at knife-point, her first instinct is to make sure her children are safe.

When she has the chance to escape herself, something breaks inside her. Instead of getting free, Gilly simply allows her abductor to take her away.

Todd never intended to take a prisoner. He only wanted her truck. Now, the two of them are stranded together in a remote cabin, snowed in, and the only way to survive is by depending on each other.

Secrets revealed. Two lives intertwined. There is no way out for either of them...but there is a way out for one of them.

From NYT Bestselling author Megan Hart, Precious and Fragile Things is a book about the strength and weaknesses of maternal love, despair and betrayal – and the horrific price a child pays when a mother can't love. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Liane Moriarty and Kerry Fisher.

"This is an incredible story of choices and how they affect our lives. The decisions we make, in times of depression, shock or silence in Gilly's case, can change our lives in the most profound ways." -- Tracy, Bookbinge.com

Product Details

BN ID: 2940161210727
Publisher: Chaos Publishing
Publication date: 08/02/2019
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 911 KB

About the Author

Megan Hart writes books. Some of them use a lot of bad words, but most of the other words are okay. She can't live without music, the internet, or the ocean, but she and soda have achieved an amicable uncoupling. She can't stand the feeling of corduroy or velvet, and modern art leaves her cold. She writes a little bit of everything from horror to romance, though she’s best known for writing erotic fiction that sometimes makes you cry. Find out more about her at meganhart.com, or if you really want to get crazy, follow her on Twitter at twitter.com/megan_hart and Facebook at www.facebook.com/readinbed.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Precious and Fragile Things 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 24 reviews.
Ryoga More than 1 year ago
This book stuck with me for several days after I read it, and not in a good way. I did not like the ending and I will tell you why without giving the book away too much. I have read a couple other Megan Hart books and have enjoyed them very much. This book is very different from her other books and while I have to give her props for attempting to try a new approach, it just fell flat in the end. In Precious and Fragile Things, both characters (there are only two in the book) have come to a metaphoric crossroads and are in need of a truly great redemption in order to proceed with their lives with any sort of dignity. Despite different back grounds, culture, and history Todd and Gilly have been thrust together in a situation that neither one wants and must share a common ground. Both have the ability to heal each other deep wounds if only they could look beyond their current predicament. The set up is ideal for a great romance, but instead Hart heaps on the tragedies almost to the point of being cliché. I do like the way she takes time to get to know her characters and you really wish they would have a happy ending despite their stupidity. But in the end I feel neither Todd nor Gilly took responsibility for any of their actions. Overall it was not a horrible read and I think I will give Megan Hart another try. You will have that "empty" feeling after reading this book so you will definitely need to read something light and happy next.
PamelaC1 More than 1 year ago
I have read several other of Megan Harts books, but found this to be her best writing yet. I very much felt what the characters she created felt. I give this book 5 stars!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ThEsE ArE tHe CiTiEs YoU'lL nEvEr SeE oN sCrEeN NoT vErY pReTtY bUt We SuRe KnOw HoW tO rUn ThInGs LiViNg In ThE rUiNs Of ThE pAlAcE wItHiN mY dReAmS… These Are Those Ruins.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. It was a bit different than some of her other books. Excellent casual read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Why, in a story that deals with maternal, unconditional love, would there be such a heartless ending? The entire story built such compassion and empathy for the antagonist that the ending is sad and unfulfilling.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DarleneGinn-Hargrove More than 1 year ago
WOW!!!!! EYE OPENING!!!!!!! WOW!!!! THIS WAS MY FIRST BOOK BY HART, AND IT WILL NOT BE MY LAST. HART TAKES US ON ROLLERCOAST OF A RIDE WITH PRECIOUS AND FRAGILE THINGS. WHEN GILLY IS CARJACKED BY TODD, THE FIRST THING SHE IS CONCERNED ABOUT IS GETTING HER TWO CHILDREN TO SAFETY. AFTER GILLY IS ABLE TO ACCOMPLISH THAT SHE SETTLES IN FOR AN ENCOUNTER SHE WILL NOT SOON FORGET. DURING THE THREE MONTHS THAT GILLY IS BEING HELD AGAINST HER WILL, SHE AND TODD DISCOVER EACH OTHERS SECRETS. TODD IS DEALING WITH DEEP ROOTED FAMILY ISSUES AND GILLY IS DEALING WITH NOT BEING APPRECIATED BY HER HUSBAND, AND FEELING BURNT OUT FROM MOTHERHOOD. THIS BOOK DIGS DEEP AND THEN THROWS A FEW SURPRISES IN FOR GOOD MEASURE. THIS BOOK WILL HAVE YOU ON THE EDGE OF YOUR SEAT TRYING TO FOLLOW THIS MOUSE AND CAT CHASE. I HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT. ENJOY.........
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SuperMomof4Ks More than 1 year ago
The language is a bit rough but I literally could not put this down. I loved the way it ended!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
sunfire114 More than 1 year ago
Very different for Megan Hart...But another winner! It's definitely not a romance..but it has a lot of feeling. Really makes you think.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read 5 books by M. Hart. I have enjoyed them all! This one included. But, I must admit I was troubled by the ending. I felt the manner in which Gilly did what she did to escape was horribly cruel concidering Todds terrible childhood reguarding his mother. Knowing that, I would still read it. Haven't each of us as mothers secretly dreamed of being "taken" away? An Interesting and compeling read to say the least.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was my least favorite megan hart book because the ending was so disapointing. It was not as insightful as some of her other books. The many references to Gilly's mother and Gilly's dreams didn't really tie into the resolution. Gilly's character wasn't as developed as much as Todd's or as sympathetic. I was rooting for Todd more than Gilly.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Todd Blauch carjacks Gilly Soloman's vehicle with her inside. He takes his kidnapped victim to a remote snow-bound mountain. There they are trapped for months by the wintry weather conditions that make it impossible to leave while her family prays for her safe return. Over time, Todd and Gilly forge an odd relationship beyond guard and prisoner. He tells her he just wanted her truck not her. However, he also admits he cannot free her because he fears she will turn him over to the cops. He refuses to return to prison. When she has a rare chance to escape, she hesitates not out of safety but out of the bond she formed with Todd. This is an odd well written thriller that will remind readers of the 2005 Georgia courtroom murders with what went down after the killings between the hostage and the killer. Gilly and Todd are fascinating protagonists who forge a bond during the captivity as they get to know one another's concerns especially once the snow melts. Although the late introduction of the tragic past feels unnecessary while slowing an intriguing character driven duet, fans who appreciate a strong look at what truly are Precious and Fragile Things like life will want to read Megan Hart's dark suspense. Harriet Klausner