Presidents' Day

Presidents' Day

by Seth Margolis

Paperback

$15.29 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.29, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, October 23?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Presidents' Day by Seth Margolis

For readers of David Baldacci and Brad Meltzer comes a timely political thriller from the bestselling author of Losing Isaiah.

In this twisting, ferocious novel of suspense, the presidential race has a number of men all clawing to get to the top. Each man has a locked closet of secrets. And one man holds every key.

Julian Mellow has spent his life amassing a fortune out of low-risk / high-reward investments. But the one time in his life he got in over his head, he left another man holding the bag, and made an enemy for life, one who has nothing to lose. Now, Mellow has an even greater ambition—to select the next President of the United States—and to make that man do his bidding, in business and beyond.

It all ties to an African nation where his son died years before, where a brutal dictator still rules supreme, and where a resistance movement lurks in the alleys, waiting for the right time to strike.

Margolis spans the globe to weave together a brilliant story of politics at its most venal, where murder is a part of the political process, where anyone’s life is up for sale, and where one man—that bad penny of an enemy—could bring the whole kingdom toppling.

As the new President is inaugurated, Seth Margolis has penned a perfect thriller for the voting public, one that asks who really puts the next person in the White House—and at what cost?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781682306970
Publisher: Diversion Books
Publication date: 02/07/2017
Pages: 360
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Seth Margolis lives with his wife in New York City and has two grown children. He received a BA in English from the University of Rochester and an MBA in marketing from New York University’s Stern School of Business Administration. When not writing fiction, he is a branding consultant for a wide range of companies, primarily in the financial services, technology and pharmaceutical industries. He has written articles for the New York Times and other publications on travel and entertainment.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Presidents' Day 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
DiiMI More than 1 year ago
How often does “the news” call the President of the United States the most powerful leader in the world? Do we really believe he runs the country in a vacuum? This is the story of one man, whose vendetta against those responsible for his son’s death, manages to secure a puppet, manage a presidential race and put the fix in on who gets elected. Through it all no one is the wiser, except one young man who puts a nefarious puzzle together and attempts to bring down the man who owns the President, quite possibly making HIM the most powerful man in the world. Julian Mellow is a monetary carnivore, he chews up and spits out the companies he has taken over. Once upon a time he was a father, a terrible father, an uninvolved father whose adult son ran as far away from him as possible. Unfortunately he ran right into death at the hands of a brutal regime in an unknown African country. Now it is time to pay and what better way than to manipulate an election and put the might of the United States behind his revenge. Once up on a time a young man worked financial miracles for Mellow, but when eh was finished, he was cast out, a pariah like yesterday’s garbage. All he wants is to prove Mellow was the true villain, but how does one disgraced man go up against a powerhouse? Zach has stumbled on more than eh could have imagined, yet, who will believe him? Who could imagine that the Oval Office could be the stage for a master puppet to act out his most deadly play? PRESIDENT’S DAY by Seth Margolis is a gritty and dark web of political machinations, death and the quest for one man to avenge the death of the son he never appreciated until he was gone. Watch the power of money at work, feel the slime that rolls off many characters, witness the spineless puppets and the few who attempt to stand against the machine that is Julian Mellow. You decide, is he a brilliant strategist or a mad man and ask yourself, why couldn’t’ this really happen? Can justice truly be served or will the dark power of greed in out in the end? Taught writing, gritty scenes and no soft lights to pretty up this tale of lies that asks, is the President of the United States a strong number 1 or is he actually a weak number 2? Monsters are exposed while the innocents die. Brutal, intriguing and terrifying… I received this copy from Seth Margolis in exchange for my honest review.