Pub. Date:
Purple Rain [Deluxe Expanded Edition]

Purple Rain [Deluxe Expanded Edition]

by Prince & the RevolutionPrince & the Revolution

CD(Expanded / Bonus DVD)

$27.99 $34.99 Save 20% Current price is $27.99, Original price is $34.99. You Save 20%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, September 29


The soundtrack to Prince's loosely autobiographical rock-u-drama, Purple Rain, is a delicious fusion of musical genres, from the rock-tinged anthem "Let's Go Crazy" to the gospel-rooted title track. Moving seamlessly from the mindless pop of "Take Me with You," an endearing duet with the film's costar, Apollonia Kotero, to the sparse funk of the bass line-less "When Doves Cry," Purple Rain catapulted the androgynous Minneapolis native and his multi racial funk-rock band, the Revolution, into pop superstardom. The record, which sold nearly 1.5 million copies its first week in stores and garnered "His Royal Badness" two Grammies and an Academy Award for Best Original Score Written for a Motion Picture or a Television Special, forever changed the sound and fashion sensibility of modern pop and R&B. With this flawless nine-song record, Prince proved once and for all that baby, he's a star. Deanna L. Martin

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/23/2017
Label: Warner Records
UPC: 0093624913207
catalogNumber: 547374
Rank: 17425


Disc 1

  1. Let's Go Crazy
  2. Take Me With U
  3. The Beautiful Ones
  4. Computer Blue
  5. Darling Nikki
  6. When Doves Cry
  7. I Would Die 4 U
  8. Baby I'm a Star
  9. Purple Rain

Disc 2

  1. The Dance Electric
  2. Love and Sex
  3. Computer Blue
  4. Electric Intercourse
  5. Our Destiny/Roadhouse Garden
  6. Possessed
  7. Wonderful Ass
  8. Velvet Kitty Cat
  9. Katrina's Paper Dolls
  10. We Can F**k
  11. Father's Song

Disc 3

  1. When Doves Cry
  2. 17 Days
  3. Let's Go Crazy
  4. Let's Go Crazy
  5. Erotic City
  6. Erotic City ("Make Love Not War Erotic City Come Alive")
  7. Purple Rain
  8. God
  9. God (Love Theme From Purple Rain)
  10. Another Lonely Christmas
  11. Another Lonely Christmas
  12. I Would Die 4 U
  13. I Would Die 4 U
  14. Baby I'm a Star
  15. Take Me With U

Disc 4

  1. Let's Go Crazy
  2. Delirious
  3. 1999
  4. Little Red Corvette
  5. Take Me With U
  6. Do Me, Baby
  7. Irresistible Bitch
  8. Possessed
  9. How Come You Don't Call Me Anymore?
  10. Let's Pretend We're Married
  11. International Lover
  12. God
  13. Computer Blue
  14. Darling Nikki
  15. The Beautiful Ones
  16. When Doves Cry
  17. I Would Die 4 U
  18. Baby I'm a Star
  19. Purple Rain

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Prince & the Revolution   Primary Artist
Prince   Vocals
Sid Page   Violin
Denyse Buffum   Viola
Lisa Coleman   Conductor,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals,Voices
Matt Fink   Keyboards,Voices
Wendy Melvoin   Guitar,Conductor,Vocals,Background Vocals,Voices
Bobby Z   Percussion
Novi Novog   Violin,Viola
Suzie Katayama   Cello
Laury Woods   Viola
Marcy Dicterow-Vaj   Violin
Annette Atkinson   Standup Bass
Tim Barr   Standup Bass
David Coleman   Strings,Cello
Brown Mark   Bass,Voices

Technical Credits

Prince   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Engineer,Art Direction,Instrumentation
Lisa Coleman   Arranger,Composer
David Leonard   Engineer
Peggy McCreary   Engineer
Wendy Melvoin   Composer
David Rivkin   Engineer
Susan Rogers   Engineer
Rob Cavallo   Producer
Prince & the Revolution   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Ed Thrasher   Cover Photo
Paul Becher   Director
Steven Fargnoli   Producer
Joshua Welton   Remastering Engineer
John L. Nelson   Composer
Doug Handers   Paintings

Customer Reviews