Qualityland

Qualityland

by Marc-Uwe Kling
Qualityland

Qualityland

by Marc-Uwe Kling

Hardcover(Reprint)

$23.99 $27.00 Save 11% Current price is $23.99, Original price is $27. You Save 11%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, December 12

Overview

In the near future sci-fi world of Qualityland, algorithms help create an idyllic life for its citizens, but what if the perfect world wasn't built for you?


Welcome to QualityLand, the best country on Earth. Here, a universal ranking system determines the social advantages and career opportunities of every member of society. An automated matchmaking service knows the best partners for everyone and helps with the break up when your ideal match (frequently) changes. And the foolproof algorithms of the biggest, most successful company in the world, TheShop, know what you want before you do and conveniently deliver to your doorstep before you even order it.


In QualityCity, Peter Jobless is a machine scrapper who can't quite bring himself to destroy the imperfect machines sent his way, and has become the unwitting leader of a band of robotic misfits hidden in his home and workplace. One day, Peter receives a product from TheShop that he absolutely, positively knows he does not want, and which he decides, at great personal cost, to return. The only problem: doing so means proving the perfect algorithm of TheShop wrong, calling into question the very foundations of QualityLand itself.


Qualityland, Marc-Uwe Kling's first book to be translated into English, is a brilliantly clever, illuminating satire in the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut, Douglas Adams, and George Orwell that offers a visionary, frightening, and all-too funny glimpse at a near future we may be hurtling toward faster than it's at all comfortable to admit. So why delay any longer? TheShop already knows you're going to love this book. You may as well head to the cash register, crack the covers, and see why that is for yourself.


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781538732960
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Publication date: 01/07/2020
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 171,129
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.40(d)

About the Author

Marc-Uwe Kling is a German author and songwriter. Qualityland spent months on the German bestseller lists, has sold more than half a million copies to date internationally, and is currently in production as an HBO series. Kling lives in Berlin.

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items