Rain Falling on Embers

Rain Falling on Embers

by Liana Gardner
Rain Falling on Embers

Rain Falling on Embers

by Liana Gardner



Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Related collections and offers

LEND ME® See Details


How do you survive the worst thing that can ever happen?

When thirteen-year-old Katie McCabe' s dad gets sick and is hospitalized, she' s sent to live with her uncle in a strange town. But within days of arriving, her dad unexpectedly dies.

Struggling with her new reality, Katie is lost. She doesn't fit in at her new home and never will.

It only gets worse when Katie starts her freshman year of high school and begins to have run-ins with the son of the man who owns the town— a powerful man with ties to her family' s past.

Then one day, she is attacked from behind. Blindfolded and slung across the back of a horse, Katie is taken up into the hills. Dumped in the middle of the wilderness in an oncoming storm, she is left to find her way home. But how will she survive?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781645480914
Publisher: Vesuvian Books
Publication date: 10/03/2023
Series: Katie McCabe , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: eBook
Pages: 252
Lexile: HL610L (what's this?)
File size: 6 MB
Age Range: 10 - 12 Years

About the Author

Liana Gardner is a Bram Stoker Awards Nominee and the multi-award-winning author of 7th Grade Revolution, The Journal of Angela Ashby, and Speak No Evil. The daughter of a rocket scientist and an artist, Liana combines the traits of both into a quirky yet pragmatic writer and in everything sees the story lurking beneath the surface.

Engaged in a battle against leukemia and lymphoma, Liana spends much of her time at home, but her imagination takes her wherever she wants to go.

Liana is a member of the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators.

Table of Contents

1. The Burning Shed 2. On the Run 3. Sent Away 4. New Family 5. Dinnertime Dustup 6. Down on the Farm 7. Venturing Out 8. The Banker's Son 9. Friends and Enemies 10. Confession 11. Hard Conversation 12. Drudgery 13. Town Picnic 14. Off to the Races 15. Sweet Revenge 16. The News 17. Going Home 18. Boxing Life 19. Saying Goodbye 20. School Time Troubles 21. The Note Home 22. The Fallout 23. False Accusations 24. Vandalism 25. Crime and Punishment 26. The Gathering Storm 27. Abducted 28. Cave Dwelling 29. On the Home Front 30. The Bear Cub 31. New Threat 32. Snake Bit 33. Safe Port 34. Arrival of the Cavalry 35. Epilogue
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews