Raining Cats and Dogs (Melanie Travis Series #12)

Raining Cats and Dogs (Melanie Travis Series #12)

by Laurien Berenson

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Raining Cats and Dogs (Melanie Travis Series #12) by Laurien Berenson

Melanie Travis has her hands full these days, what with adding a husband and three more dogs to her already cramped home. The advanced obedience training for her dog Faith is a welcome respite from the stresses of house hunting—until murder forces Melanie to the head of the class. . .

Even amidst the chaos, Melanie somehow manages to eke out a bit of time to get Faith enrolled in "school." The South Avenue Obedience Club looks like fun, even if there are enough sexual and political undercurrents in the group to power a small generator. Melanie is especially eager to bring Faith to the program at the Winston Pumpernill Nursing Home. Club member Paul Lennox initiated the outings to please his Great Aunt Mary, and since many of the other residents are also dog lovers, the trips are now a treasured tradition.

Melanie and Faith are warmly welcomed at the home, but their very first visit ends in tragedy when Aunt Mary is found suffocated in her bed. There's no shortage of suspects—from the wealthy victim's ne'er-do-well son to the staff to the secret-laden club members themselves, there's motive and opportunity aplenty. All Melanie has to do is follow the trail—and watch her back. . .

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780758208149
Publisher: Kensington
Publication date: 08/28/2006
Series: Melanie Travis Series , #12
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 238,253
Product dimensions: 4.19(w) x 6.78(h) x 0.83(d)

About the Author

Laurien Berenson is author of the delightful Melanie Travis canine cozy mystery series, including Jingle Bell Bark and Best in Show. She has a degree in psychology from Vassar College and has been married for almost twenty-five years. She lives in Georgia with her husband, her son, six dogs, and two Welsh ponies.

Table of Contents

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Raining Cats and Dogs (Melanie Travis Series #12) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
daisy51 More than 1 year ago
If you love mysteries and love dogs - this is the series for you! The author knows dogs and "dog people" and writes a good mystery. Wish more were available as Nook books.
Avid_Reader_TC More than 1 year ago
How about getting her older books on Nook? All are great reads.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read every single book this series has to offer and every time it is a joy. The main character Melanie is NOT by any means a trained detective. Her daily life, with the Standard Poodles, is always chaotic. And the cast of this book is nothing short of entertaining. The murder and solution of the murder is not a sci-fi movie of detail (good for those with weak tummies) and the charm that comes over you is always good to feel. Each and every book is wonderful on its own and together they become even better. If you can fit any one of the books in this series into four hours of your life, then you will be glad you did.
harstan More than 1 year ago
For a woman who likes order and routine, Melanie Travis¿ life has dissolved into chaos ever since she married Sam because he moved into her home so that her son wouldn¿t have to change schools and neighborhoods. Unfortunately her six room house was not big enough to hold two adults, one active boy, and five standard poodles. While they are looking for a bigger house, Melanie escapes one night a week to the South Avenue Obedience Club with her dog Faith............. The club members bring their dogs to the Winston Pumpernill Nursing Home in Greenwich so the residents can play with the canines. One of the members of the club Paul Livingston has his great-aunt living there and he loves her dearly. Melanie can understand why when she meets her but that initial introduction is their last meeting because someone murdered her while the canine club was there. The leader of the club challenges Melanie to find the murderer knowing that she solved other homicides so once again she takes up the mantle of a sleuth............. Laurien Berenson can always be counted on to write a thoroughly enjoyable who-done-it. RAINING CATS AND DOGS is more humorous than some of the other books in the series as Melanie tries to deal with too many people and dogs in a small house, a new sexy neighbor whose husband is always on the road, and looking for a house that will meet everyone needs especially her canine caper crew while trying to find a murderer. The characters in this series continue to change and evolve making it impossible for fans to grow bored.............. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Suspense! Smart writing - very fun read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another enjoyable, well written book by the author. I have read all the books in the series up to this one and look forward to each new mystery. This book gives the reader a glimpse of the importance of therapy dog volunteer service for the elderly and disabled. Readers also learn a little about obedience training. There are so many things we can do with our canine companions that bring joy to dog, owner and others. The author shows us how the elderly who are in assisted living are still intelligent, humorous, important members of society. The elderly characters had a contributing part in the story. I will continue to read the books in this series and I look forward to the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Too much about her dog and not enough content mystery wise
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago