Sanctified Blues

Sanctified Blues

by Mable John, David Ritz
4.7 14

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Sanctified Blues by Mable John, David Ritz

Albertina Merci, a talented R&B singer, toured with Ray Charles, James Brown, and Wilson Pickett—until the fateful night her voice gave out in front of a sold-out crowd. Encouraged by her fans, she offered a little speech in praise of Jesus instead of a song. Her spontaneous words became the seed of “Sanctified Blues,” a song that soon captured the hearts of millions and gave Albertina the financial security to follow her true calling as an evangelist—sharing the Gospel with those in need of spiritual comfort. Sanctified Blues is the story of Albertina’s encounter with Maggie Clay, the biracial beauty who is TV’s reigning diva. A sudden mystery surrounding Maggie has the entire country wondering: Is Maggie having a nervous breakdown, and if so, why? What caused it? And who can save the star from self-destruction?Sanctified Blues introduces a heroine in the vein of Jessica Fletcher of Murder, She Wrote and Precious Ramotswe, head of The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency. Her quiet but determined mission to solve spiritual mysteries and dilemmas will endear Albertina to both secular and Christian readers.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780307419200
Publisher: Crown/Archetype
Publication date: 12/18/2007
Sold by: Random House
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 1,077,778
File size: 542 KB

About the Author

MABLE JOHN was the first female recording artist for Motown, the lead “Raelette” for Ray Charles from 1968–1976, and a successful solo artist for Stax/Volt. She’s now an ordained minister with a doctorate in counseling. DAVID RITZ is coauthor of Howling at the Moon and the author of biographies of Marvin Gaye and jazz singer Jimmy Scott. He has also coauthored autobiographies of Ray Charles, B.B. King, Aretha Franklin, Smokey Robinson, and other musicians. He lives in Los Angeles, California.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sanctified Blues 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey I'm at our new book.† (Brotherhood of the Christ)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
That's not u is it? That's over there yellin at me! It must be a poser! ~Ree
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Are ypu the sam bw and ree knoe?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Help
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
IM BACK EVERYBODY. :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Where is the new book?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hope you feel better! ^~^
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I heard that... was that dealing with Doctor Who?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would like to enroll