Saturn Run

Saturn Run

by John Sandford, Ctein

Hardcover

$25.20 $28.00 Save 10% Current price is $25.2, Original price is $28. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Overview

An extraordinary new thriller of the future from #1 New York Times–bestselling and Pulitzer Prize–winning author John Sandford and internationally known photo-artist and science fiction aficionado Ctein.
 
Over the course of thirty-seven books, John Sandford has proven time and again his unmatchable talents for electrifying plots, rich characters, sly wit, and razor-sharp dialogue. Now, in collaboration with Ctein, he proves it all once more, in a stunning new thriller, a story as audacious as it is deeply satisfying.
 
The year is 2066. A Caltech intern inadvertently notices an anomaly from a space telescope—something is approaching Saturn, and decelerating. Space objects don’t decelerate. Spaceships do.
 
A flurry of top-level government meetings produces the inescapable conclusion: Whatever built that ship is at least one hundred years ahead in hard and soft technology, and whoever can get their hands on it exclusively and bring it back will have an advantage so large, no other nation can compete. A conclusion the Chinese definitely agree with when they find out.
 
The race is on, and an remarkable adventure begins—an epic tale of courage, treachery, resourcefulness, secrets, surprises, and astonishing human and technological discovery, as the members of a hastily thrown-together crew find their strength and wits tested against adversaries both of this earth and beyond. What happens is nothing like you expect—and everything you could want from one of the world’s greatest masters of suspense.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780399176951
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 10/06/2015
Pages: 496
Sales rank: 1,170,862
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.10(h) x 2.00(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

John Sandford is the author of twenty-five Prey novels, most recently Gathering Prey; eight Virgil Flowers novels, most recently Deadline; and eight other books, including the Young Adult novels Uncaged and Outrage, written with Michele Cook. He lives in Santa Fe, New Mexico.
 
Ctein is an internationally known photographer and expert on photographic printing. The holder of a double degree from Caltech in English and physics, he is the author of more than 500 articles, columns, books, and manuals, and is a well-known member of the science fiction community. He lives in San Francisco.

Hometown:

St. Paul, Minnesota

Date of Birth:

February 23, 1944

Place of Birth:

Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Education:

State University of Iowa, Iowa City: B.A., American History; M.A., Journalism

Read an Excerpt

Chapter One
(Continues…)



Excerpted from "Saturn Run"
by .
Copyright © 2017 John Sandford.
Excerpted by permission of Penguin Publishing Group.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

What People are Saying About This

John Sandford is an amazing, protean writer, and Saturn Run is a terrific story of alien first contact. It's a book Michael Crichton would have enjoyed, but never could have written; he didn't have Sandford's gift of good humor and his uncanny ear for dialogue. With the able partnership of Ctein, it's fast, scientifically believable, and peopled by characters who become good friends. Fans of Lucas Davenport and Virgil Flowers will eat this up. --STEPHEN KING

From the Publisher

“One of the most gifted thriller writers at work in this country or any other.”
Richmond Times-Dispatch  
“John Sandford writes entertainment that is not to be missed. He is consistently brilliant.”
Cleveland Plain Dealer  
“Sandford has always been at the top of any list of great mystery writers.”
 
The Huffington Post
 

Lee Child

Three things to know: First, I'm the world's biggest John Sandford fan. Second: I saw this book and thought...what? Third: I needn't have worried. It's vintage Sandford all the way, with all his trademark strengths and insights, except set in the future, not the present. You won't be disappointed. --LEE CHILD

Reading Group Guide

Reading Guide Questions for SATURN RUN
 
1. As John Sandford and Ctein mention in their final note, Saturn Run relies on “real science and real technology, extrapolated as realistically as we could.” In what ways does this directive apply to the genre of science fiction as you imagine it? In what ways does it diverge?
 
2. How much of science fiction is about predicting the future and how much is about posing questions about the present? Where do you believe the line is drawn in Saturn Run?
 
3. Did you catch any references in Saturn Run to other works of science fiction? Hint: The number 42.
 
4. Knowing how closely Sandford and Ctein relied on present-day rocket science, what would your own time line be for further space exploration? Where do you think human beings, as a species, will travel to next?
 
5.  In Saturn Run, the potential existence of alien life-forms has an immediate and dramatic impact on global politics. Do you believe John Sandford and Ctein got it right? How would you expect national governments, as you know them today, to react?
 

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Saturn Run 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SF with real science! Couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you enjoyed Seveneves or The Martian, this book is for you. Further evidence that the near-future hard sci-fi subgenre is having a major renaissance.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is great. Please do more
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sandford is by far my favorite author and I was disappointed with this book. I only read it because he was listed as an author. Co-authors seems all rage. Name authors paired with unknowns. This is another example of that model not working. No typical Sandford humor or plot development to my sincere disappointment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This novel was a fascinating mix of futuristic science and yarn. There were no far fetched drooling alien monsters. It told a tale that plausibly depicts space travel in the near future... with some drama, humor, and intrigue thrown in.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nations of Earth struggle to get space-alien technology and keep it from each other. A similar premise drove the old movie "Bamboo Saucer," but the movie was shorter and unintentionally funnier and is recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Earth, particularly China and the U.S., Is eager to get the advanced technology stored at the alien depot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great read . Science fiction adventure at it's best . .lived it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you love science fiction you will love this book! It was good from beginning to end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Some of the technical jargon went over my head but afforded the reader a glimpse into the science of space travel. Thoroughly enjoyed the characters and the final twist at the end. The AI was a great touch vs a living, breathing alien. Well done to both authors on a very entertaining collaboration.
William Robertson More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it! I want more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This ranked right up there with Lender's Game and Epance books..LOVED IT!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm at 1/3 of the book and I can't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It had great characters and great science. If you are thinking about reading this because it is co-written by John Sandford, ask yourself if you like stories about space, science or really liked reading The Martian. If you answered yes, then this is the book for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Got 87.5% of the way thru this book when it was ruined by a very non-sci-fi plot twist. Yech! Would not recommend wasting time or money on this one.
ThatEffinWeeds More than 1 year ago
Too much Ctein and not enough Sandford for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
yooper_girl_66 More than 1 year ago
I like sci-fi and John Sanford, so of course I loved this book. Good plot development kept me interested, and the characters are wonderful. I hope there are more books from this duo. Personally, I would love to see a sequel featuring Sandy Darlington and the other characters featured in this book. As I was reading it, I kept seeing it as a movie playing out in my head, the descriptions and narrative were that good. I read a lot and this book is one of my favorites.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great book. It was entirely engaging, interesting, and had a satisfying ending. I would recommend this to anyone who likes science-fiction and anyone who doesn't!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dreadful and unreadable!
silencedogoodreturns More than 1 year ago
A highly readable and entertaining science fiction yarn, incorporating real world physics in an interplanetary race between China and the US, with alien civilizations and unimaginable high technology thrown in. Fans of the Sandford's Lucas Davenport and Virgil Flowers will not find the usual banter and who-dunnit they are used to, but then this isn't a Davenport or Flowers novel, is it? It's very detailed scientifically, and will hold your interest with no problem. My minor quibbles deal with its lack of closer identification with military standards and protocols - the US space ship is commanded by naval officers and has Marines, but naval procedures, courtesies and culture are largely left completely out. The other quibble: a perhaps overly PC-use of female characters. The President, Chairman of the Joint Chiefs, captain of the space ship and its chief engineer are all female. Perhaps a bit of overkill?