Saturn Run

Saturn Run

by John Sandford, Ctein

Hardcover

$28.00 View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

An extraordinary new thriller of the future from #1 New York Times–bestselling and Pulitzer Prize–winning author John Sandford and internationally known photo-artist and science fiction aficionado Ctein.
 
Over the course of thirty-seven books, John Sandford has proven time and again his unmatchable talents for electrifying plots, rich characters, sly wit, and razor-sharp dialogue. Now, in collaboration with Ctein, he proves it all once more, in a stunning new thriller, a story as audacious as it is deeply satisfying.
 
The year is 2066. A Caltech intern inadvertently notices an anomaly from a space telescope—something is approaching Saturn, and decelerating. Space objects don’t decelerate. Spaceships do.
 
A flurry of top-level government meetings produces the inescapable conclusion: Whatever built that ship is at least one hundred years ahead in hard and soft technology, and whoever can get their hands on it exclusively and bring it back will have an advantage so large, no other nation can compete. A conclusion the Chinese definitely agree with when they find out.
 
The race is on, and an remarkable adventure begins—an epic tale of courage, treachery, resourcefulness, secrets, surprises, and astonishing human and technological discovery, as the members of a hastily thrown-together crew find their strength and wits tested against adversaries both of this earth and beyond. What happens is nothing like you expect—and everything you could want from one of the world’s greatest masters of suspense.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780399176951
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 10/06/2015
Pages: 496
Sales rank: 698,524
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.10(h) x 2.00(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

John Sandford is the author of twenty-five Prey novels, most recently Gathering Prey; eight Virgil Flowers novels, most recently Deadline; and eight other books, including the Young Adult novels Uncaged and Outrage, written with Michele Cook. He lives in Santa Fe, New Mexico.
 
Ctein is an internationally known photographer and expert on photographic printing. The holder of a double degree from Caltech in English and physics, he is the author of more than 500 articles, columns, books, and manuals, and is a well-known member of the science fiction community. He lives in San Francisco.

Hometown:

St. Paul, Minnesota

Date of Birth:

February 23, 1944

Place of Birth:

Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Education:

State University of Iowa, Iowa City: B.A., American History; M.A., Journalism

Read an Excerpt

Chapter One
(Continues…)



Excerpted from "Saturn Run"
by .
Copyright © 2017 John Sandford.
Excerpted by permission of Penguin Publishing Group.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

What People are Saying About This

John Sandford is an amazing, protean writer, and Saturn Run is a terrific story of alien first contact. It's a book Michael Crichton would have enjoyed, but never could have written; he didn't have Sandford's gift of good humor and his uncanny ear for dialogue. With the able partnership of Ctein, it's fast, scientifically believable, and peopled by characters who become good friends. Fans of Lucas Davenport and Virgil Flowers will eat this up. --STEPHEN KING

From the Publisher

“One of the most gifted thriller writers at work in this country or any other.”
Richmond Times-Dispatch  
“John Sandford writes entertainment that is not to be missed. He is consistently brilliant.”
Cleveland Plain Dealer  
“Sandford has always been at the top of any list of great mystery writers.”
 
The Huffington Post
 

Lee Child

Three things to know: First, I'm the world's biggest John Sandford fan. Second: I saw this book and thought...what? Third: I needn't have worried. It's vintage Sandford all the way, with all his trademark strengths and insights, except set in the future, not the present. You won't be disappointed. --LEE CHILD

Reading Group Guide

Reading Guide Questions for SATURN RUN
 
1. As John Sandford and Ctein mention in their final note, Saturn Run relies on “real science and real technology, extrapolated as realistically as we could.” In what ways does this directive apply to the genre of science fiction as you imagine it? In what ways does it diverge?
 
2. How much of science fiction is about predicting the future and how much is about posing questions about the present? Where do you believe the line is drawn in Saturn Run?
 
3. Did you catch any references in Saturn Run to other works of science fiction? Hint: The number 42.
 
4. Knowing how closely Sandford and Ctein relied on present-day rocket science, what would your own time line be for further space exploration? Where do you think human beings, as a species, will travel to next?
 
5.  In Saturn Run, the potential existence of alien life-forms has an immediate and dramatic impact on global politics. Do you believe John Sandford and Ctein got it right? How would you expect national governments, as you know them today, to react?
 

Customer Reviews