Secrets of Death (Ben Cooper and Diane Fry Series #16)

Secrets of Death (Ben Cooper and Diane Fry Series #16)

by Stephen Booth

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

For fans of Broadchurch, Louise Penny, and Peter Robinson comes a spellbinding new novel from internationally bestselling author Stephen Booth

Residents of the Peak District are used to tourists descending on its soaring hills and brooding valleys. However, this summer brings a different kind of visitor to the idyllic landscape, leaving behind bodies and secrets.

A series of suicides throughout the Peaks throws Detective Inspector Ben Cooper and his team in Derbyshire’s E Division into a race against time to find a connection to these seemingly random acts — with no way of predicting where the next body will turn up. Meanwhile, in Nottingham Detective Sergeant Diane Fry finds a key witness has vanished . . .

But what are the mysterious Secrets of Death?

And is there one victim whose fate wasn’t suicide at all?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062690357
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 04/04/2017
Series: Ben Cooper and Diane Fry Series , #16
Sold by: HARPERCOLLINS
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 70,154
File size: 735 KB

About the Author

Stephen Booth's fourteen novels featuring Cooper and Fry, all to be published by Witness, have sold over half a million copies around the world.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Secrets of Death 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Secrets of Death is an intriguing look at a mind corrupted with impure thoughts with suicide as a basis for evil. A must read which builds to an unsuspecting mystery ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read it in a day!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A good read but also a little dark.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There are too many side stories that have nothing to do with anything. For instance, the mysterious appearance of Fry's sister. So? That went nowhere. The new pathologist? Nowhere. Other than that, an interesting concept for a mystery.
JBronder More than 1 year ago
Recently in the Peak District several suicides have been discovered and it is starting to look like Suicide Tourists are in the area. But things change when a card with Secrets of Death on it is discovered by Inspector Ben Cooper, it seems that there is much more happening than simple suicides. Meanwhile, Sargent Diane Fry is on the case investigating multiple murders when her main suspect disappears. He is rediscovered as a Suicide Tourist. This story is set in the picturesque Peak District. This alone drew me into the story, I just wanted to see it for myself. And knowing that I could see it becoming a destination for vacationers and those that might want a beautiful view before death. Creepy as that might sound, it also sounds like a semi-rational thought. And what better way to disguise a murder than to make it look like a suicide. This is my first Cooper and Fry story so I have all of the background between these two characters. Overall I enjoyed the story. Since the mystery revolves around suicide there is a lot of discussion of this. I liked the mystery and thought the ending was good. I didn’t expect who the killer was. As for Cooper and Fry, clearly there is some bad blood here and I am curious to find out what I have missed in the prior books. But I have to say that when your characters are split as far as these two and one of the main characters doesn’t really make an appearance until the halfway point of the book it makes the story seem forced. I’m curious to see if these two will reconcile since this is a series about them but I also got the feeling that they are done. I liked Secrets of Death and will definitely be checking out the previous books in this series. I received Secrets of Death from Partners in Crime Virtual Books Tours for free. This has in no way influenced my opinion of this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like this series but a whole book on nothing but suicide is too much
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great Cooper and Fry! This one has some unexpected twists and turns! Already waiting for the next one!