Sick: A Project Eden Thriller

Sick: A Project Eden Thriller

by Brett Battles

Paperback(New Edition)

$13.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 18?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.

Overview

Sick: A Project Eden Thriller by Brett Battles

For fans of Stephen King, Blake Crouch, and Michael Crichton comes a new, heart-pounding thriller by Brett Battles...

Daniel Ash wakes after midnight to the cry of his daughter. Just a bad dream, he thinks. She's had them before. Yet he can't help but worry when she cries out again as he pads down the hallway. Stepping through her doorway, he expects to find her sitting up in bed, frightened by a nightmare.

But the nightmare is his. It's real. And it's just beginning...

Something is burning Ash's daughter alive. Something horrible that is spreading beyond the walls of their home, and taking no prisoners.

Thirty seconds later, Ash will discover his daughter isn't the only one in his family infected, and as his world spins, coming apart at the seams, a team of armed men in biohazard suits bursts into his house.

But these aren't the good guys.

They haven't come to save Ash's family. They've come to separate them, to finish what they started.

The problem is Ash refuses to disappear. He wants only one thing: to find those responsible.

Because humanity is on the brink of execution.

And man is pulling the trigger.

WHAT OTHERS ARE SAYING ABOUT SICK:

"Brett Battles is a master of the thriller genre. SICK not only grabs you by the throat, but by the heart and gut as well, and by the time you finish you feel as if you've just taken a runaway train through dangerous territory. Buy this book now. You won't regret it."-Robert Browne, author of THE PARADISE PROPHECY.

"Like a fever, SICK makes you sweat and keeps you up all night, wondering what the hell is happening. It'll make your heart race like someone shot you with an EpiPen. You think Battles was badass before? He just cranked it up to 500 joules. CLEAR!"-popculturenerd.com

"SICK is Brett Battles at his best (which is saying a great deal), a thriller that also chills, with a secret at its core that's almost too scary to be contained within the covers of a book. As always, Battles juggles plot lines with the best of them, and his characters jump off the page. SICK deserves to be a best-seller."-Tim Hallinan, author of the Edgar nominated THE QUEEN OF PATPONG

PRAISE FOR BRETT BATTLES' JONATHAN QUINN SERIES:

"Brett Battles has established himself as one of today's best thriller writers, right up there with Lee Child, Barry Eisler, and Thomas Perry."-Deadly Pleasures magazine

"The best word I can use to describe his writing is addictive."-James Rollins, author of the Sigma Force series

"Quinn is one part James Bond, one part Jason Bourne."-Nashville Book Worm

"I'm on the edge of my seat, awaiting future installments of Quinn's Adventures."-Jeffery Deaver, author of the Lincoln Rhyme's series

"Battles has a true gift for writing thrillers..."-Crimespree magazine

"The action is heart-pounding, gripping, and always engaging."-Tucson Citizen

"Battles is a master storyteller."-Sheldon Siegel, author of PERFECT ALIBI

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781461189268
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 03/17/2012
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 298
Sales rank: 441,377
Product dimensions: 5.25(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.67(d)

About the Author

Brett Battles lives in Los Angeles and is the author of four novels in the acclaimed Jonathan Quinn series-including THE CLEANER (nominated for the Barry Award for Best Thriller 2008, and the Shamus Award for Best Debut Novel), THE DECEIVED (winner of the Barry Award for Best Thriller 2009), and the latest installment, THE SILENCED-and the first book in the Logan Harper series, LITTLE GIRL GONE. More info available at www.brettbattles.com

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sick 0 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Bill_in_LA More than 1 year ago
Michael Palmer meets Robin Cook & Vince Flynn. Good book that keeps you guessing. Sort of a medical mystery that is also sort of a spy thriller all wrapped together to make a good story.
Drewano More than 1 year ago
This book was hard for me to rate. It’s well written with interesting characters which kept me entertained. It’s more of a suspense genre than a thriller because there as I don’t feel as if there is enough action to call it a thriller. The bad part is that the overall premise is great but this book is only deals with a very small portion of it and doesn’t resolve the overall plot which left me feeling a bit frustrated. If you don’t mind signing on for more than one book start this series because it’s got great potential! If you’re just looking for something to fill in then maybe wait until you have time to tackle the whole bunch.
slbphoenix More than 1 year ago
I bought this book and read through my Nook. I really enjoyed it and found it very engaging. I'm plan on getting the next book in the series.
Boatsm3 More than 1 year ago
Awesome book.......Loved it couldn't put it down...
smanke More than 1 year ago
Sick is book one in the Project Eden series, and after reading it I can’t wait to dig into book #2.  Though this book is a lunching point for a series that currently features four novels, thankfully it’s a fully fleshed out and complete story in its own right.  Packed with action and unending suspense, the book starts with a scare and the wild ride only continues from there. The book centers around the character of Daniel Ash, an officer in the Army who has recently taken his family and transferred to a base that has just been taken out of mothballs.  As the story opens, he wakes in the middle of the night to tragedy and finds himself in the center of a fantastic conspiracy.  As the story unfolds, Ash fights for his life and the lives of those he cares for. I like to say the book centers around Daniel Ash because many parts of the story involve beautifully illustrated peripheral characters who enhance the story and pull us, as readers, into the wider implications of events as the plot unfolds.  The secondary cast of characters adds great depth and emotion at every turn. I particularly enjoyed how we learn about the antagonist(s) slowly over time.  The slow dissemination of information regarding the group behind the conspiracy adds to the tension as we realize the overall reach of the antagonist organization by the end of the book. By the end of the story, things are brought to a satisfying conclusion but there are many questions left unanswered.  And there should be.  There are three more books in the series right now.  And there may be more to come.  There are many questions, dangerous villains and even shadowy saviors who leave us wanting more.  Perhaps best of all, there is more to be had.  Answers are just one book away.  It’s nearly impossible to finish reading Sick and not dive directly into Exit 9, the second book in the series!