Slade's Law

Slade's Law

by Lyle Brandt

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Dead men tell tales--the living take vengeance.


Jack Slade, now a deputy U.S. mar­shal in the lawless Oklahoma Terri­tory, is investigating the mysterious death of fellow marshal Aaron Price near a town called Serenity. But Slade soon learns Serenity is nothing like its name. Strangers who pass through Serenity seem to vanish, or in Price's case, die suddenly and violently.

Although Serenity's marshal claims Price was the victim of a rattlesnake bite, a farmer who found the dead man saw marks of a human killer--namely, bullet holes. No one else in Serenity will talk. When Slade de­mands that the corpse be exhumed, he's liable to dig up trouble as well as answers...

Product Details

BN ID: 2940158763397
Publisher: Speaking Volumes
Publication date: 08/30/2017
Series: The Lawman , #2
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 519,781
File size: 491 KB

About the Author

"Lyle Brandt" is the pen name of longtime author Michael Newton, used so far on eighteen Western novels published by Berkley Books.

The three Berkley series include five novels starring gunfighter Matthew Price, eleven featuring U.S. Marshal Jack Slade, and two recounting the post-Civil War adventures of U.S. Secret Service agent Gideon Ryder.

Several Slade novels have been honored with awards or nominations as best novels in their respective years of publication. Hanging Judge was a finalist in the 2010 Western Writers of America's Spur Awards. Manhunt won the 2010 Peacemaker Award from the Western Fictioneers. Avenging Angels was a 2010 finalist in the same category and was also a finalist for the 2011 Best Original Mass Market Paperback for the WWA's Spur Awards. Blood Trails was nominated for the 2011 WWA's Spur Awards for Best Western Novel.

Michael Newton lives in Indiana.

Customer Reviews