Slipping into Paradise: Why I Live in New Zealand

Slipping into Paradise: Why I Live in New Zealand

by Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson
2.8 8

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Slipping into Paradise: Why I Live in New Zealand by Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson

In the tradition of Under the Tuscan Sun and A Year in Provence, here is Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson’s ode to his personal paradise–his adopted home, New Zealand. After living in California, why did Masson settle– out of all the places on earth–in such a faraway land? It turns out that while visiting a beautiful sandy beach just fifteen minutes from bustling Auckland, Masson and his family were utterly seduced by the exotic locale. There was little deliberation. This place, surrounded by lush forest on a bay dotted with volcanic islands, would be their new home.
Masson takes readers on a remarkable journey to another world, as he and his family “slip into” the paradise that is New Zealand. For anyone who has ever dreamed of finding utopia, Masson reveals a country where neighbors talk to one another and provide a sense of real community–rarely, outside of the big cities, locking their doors–and where politics are as mellow as the weather. New Zealand is also a land of spectacular scenery, made even more famous for being the shooting location for the Lord of the Rings films. The flora is plentiful. Mangroves, banana plants, papaya trees, and more than ten thousand species of ferns grow wild and freely. The fauna is benign. There are no snakes, tarantulas, or scorpions. Children can walk to school barefoot without a care– there is nothing to sting them, bite them, or give them a rash. In the blue waters near the lush coastline, dolphins and orcas abound.

While describing his love affair with the country and his affinity for its citizens, Masson reflects on the meaning of home, the importance of acting on intuition, and what happens when we lose our connection to the place we live in. Responding to an impulse, Masson reveals, he realized a dream.

Featuring a its glossary of phrases used by New Zealanders and important Maori words, as well as the author’s recommended travel itinerary, Slipping into Paradise is ideal for anyone planning a visit to this exquisite land. Full of photographs, delightful anecdotes, and little-known facts (jogging, for example, was invented in New Zealand), Slipping into Paradise is also a book for those who fantasize about dramatically changing their lives–and who imagine something better for themselves. Jeffrey Masson’s message: New Zealand awaits.


From the Hardcover edition.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780307491046
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Publication date: 12/30/2008
Sold by: Random House
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 1,003,557
File size: 3 MB

About the Author

JEFFREY MOUSSAIEFF MASSON, former Sanskrit scholar and project director of the Sigmund Freud Archives, has written more than a dozen books, including the bestsellers The Pig Who Sang to the Moon, The Nine Emotional Lives of Cats, Dogs Never Lie About Love, and When Elephants Weep. A longtime resident of Berkeley, California, he now lives in New Zealand with his wife, two sons, and five cats.


From the Hardcover edition.

Hometown:

Auckland, New Zealand

Date of Birth:

March 28, 1941

Place of Birth:

Chicago, Illinois

Education:

B.A., Harvard, 1964; Toronto Institute of Psychoanalysis, 1978, Ph.D. in Sanskrit and Indian Studies, Harvard, 1970

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Slipping into Paradise: Why I Live in New Zealand 2.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We are a young family who is looking for a new country to move to. New Zealand is our number one choice. We are planning to visit it in the next three months and then apply for immigrant status. This book is fantastic. Its personal point of the view and experience of the person who i can relate to. I enjoyed every page of it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This person did give personal perspective that was very descriptive. But I felt that many times he wandered off on historic details that deterred some from the personal. This side tracking on so many ocassions made me start skipping through parts of the book only finding myself reskimming parts to make sure I hadn't missed something. Decent read overall but with some glossy eyed personnal perspective.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book barely contains reasons why the author lives in New Zealand apart from an ongoing fantasy about the ideal place to live, and how NZ almost fit it. He does mention some things you probably already know about NZ - the people are friendly and the landscapes are beautiful. The book is a commentary on a long list of injustices around the world and within NZ itself. In his chapter on important dates in NZ history, almost all of his 50 descriptions have a negative connotation. I got the feeling over and over that the author was confused about the topic of his book. If you are looking for a book describing the positive experiences of a new Kiwi who views NZ as a paradise, and/or a feel for day to day life in NZ, as I was, you will not get it here.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I personally LOVE this book....just brings back memories of home....I would recommend this book to anyone who has always wanted to travel to New Zealand, but couldn't afford it.....this book will take you there...trust me....this book made me feel sooooooo home sick.....Good memories and the beauty of the country......when you read this book....the author isn't BS about the breath taking environment.....New Zealand is truly a ' TREASURE ISLAND!!'
Guest More than 1 year ago
I agree with Chris who reviewed in Oct. Overall disappointing, and not enough in the vein of the various 'Tuscany' books. I also expected to experience his view of the people; how the author integrated into his neghborhood; and delt with the different systems. As an ex-patriot Kiwi, I was expecting alot more.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think the book is mis-marketed. It's a good overview on some of the known facts about history, botony etc. Interesting. I was hoping for more about the people and feelings someone might experience moving to NZ. This was touched on throughout, but I came away thinking that I was missing something.