Smithereens [B&N Exclusive] [Black Ice Vinyl]

Smithereens [B&N Exclusive] [Black Ice Vinyl]

by Joji
Smithereens [B&N Exclusive] [Black Ice Vinyl]

Smithereens [B&N Exclusive] [Black Ice Vinyl]

by Joji

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record - B&N Exclusive Edition)

    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, March 1
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Just two years after the release of his big-budget sophomore set Nectar, Japanese singer/songwriter Joji dials it back and dives deep on his brisk third LP, Smithereens. Nursing the wounds of lost love, the album is steeped in heartbreak and yearning; however, by tapping into his swirling well of feelings, it becomes a touching and beautiful revelation. The platinum-certified lead single "Glimpse of Us" is the clearest evidence of just how far he's come on his artistic journey: atop sparse piano backing, Joji delivers a devastating, vulnerable performance that is utterly sublime in its production simplicity and emotional depth. The subdued "Before the Day Is Over" and dreamy "Die for You" offer similar opportunities for a good cry. While the brokenhearted yearning washes over all of Smithereens, Joji injects addictive, beat-forward production into the mix to keep it from being too depressing. "NIGHT RIDER" matches ominous droning with digital blips and popping percussion, while "Feeling Like the End" and "BLAHBLAHBLAH DEMO" lighten the mood (somewhat). Meanwhile, standouts such as the skittering, Postal Service-indebted "YUKON (INTERLUDE)" and the lush "1AM FREESTYLE" should please fans of his earlier work. Clocking in at under 30 minutes, Smithereens is the perfect length to wallow in sadness before wiping off the tears and carrying on. It's not the happiest of experiences, but it is his most mature and relatable statement to date. ~ Neil Z. Yeung

Product Details

Release Date: 05/12/2023
Label: Warner Music
UPC: 0093624864585
Rank: 396


  1. Glimpse of Us
  2. Feeling Like the End
  3. Die for You
  4. Before the Day Is Over
  5. Dissolve
  6. Night Rider
  7. Blahblahblah Demo
  8. Yukon (Interlude)
  9. 1AM Freestyle

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Joji   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Keith Varon   Composer
Trevor Taylor   Mixing Engineer
Jacob Ray   Composer,Producer
Jose Castillo   Composer
Jeff Ellis   Mixing
George Miller   Composer
Joji   Producer
Daniel Krieger   Composer,Producer
Justin Parker   Composer,Producer
J. Que   Composer
Katie Harvey   Mastering Assistant
Dale Becker   Mastering
Daniel Tannenbaum   Composer
Sam Dew   Composer
Connor McDonough   Composer,Producer
Sergiu Gherman   Composer
Taylor Dexter   Composer
Benjamin Bailey   Composer,Producer
Dewain Whitmore   Composer
Tim Randolph   Composer,Producer
Lauren Sanderson   Composer
Whethan   Composer
Tristan Hoogland   Mixing
Aaron Reyes   Composer,Producer
Tyler Mehlenbacher   Composer
Francisco "Frankie" Ramirez   Engineer
Wesley Singerman   Composer,Producer
Marius Feder   Composer
Derrell Jackson   Composer
Vincent Verdi   Composer
Ivan Handwerk   Mixing Assistant
Riley McDonough   Composer
Isaac Sleator   Composer,Additional Production
Suburban Plaza   Composer,Producer
Hamish Patrick   Mixing Assistant
Alexis Idarose Kesselman   Composer
Bekon & The Donuts   Producer
Noah McCorkle   Mastering Assistant
Connor Hedge   Mastering Assistant
Joe Begalla   Mixing Assistant
Christopher William Cleere   Composer
Joseph Gregory Verdi   Composer
Wonton Jesus   Composer,Producer
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews