Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More


by Romero Lubambo Romero Lubambo


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, July 12


Romero Lubambo has been one of the most impressive South American guitarists to arrive on the jazz scene. He's appeared on numerous recordings and also been a part of the group Trio da Paz, but this date for Maxjazz is a special project that he had long sought to do, consisting of individual parts on different guitars mixed together, including classical instruments, electric, fretless, cavaquinho, and guitar synthesizer. He even helps the novice listener by identifying which one is used to play the solo, rhythm, melody and harmony for each performance; it's a nice touch. Unlike many such multi-tracked solo projects, this one succeeds because Lubambo's avoids excessive layering; the songs have the feeling of multiple musicians playing together. In addition to pieces by fellow Brazilians (Ivan Lins and Antonio Carlos Jobim), American standards ("I Fall in Love Too Easily," "Time After Time" and "In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning"), plus several compelling originals jointly written with his wife, Pamela Driggs, Lubambo is able to find new avenues into pop favorites like "Comin' Home Baby" and "Just the Two of Us" that often come off rather bland when played by others. Highly recommended.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 11/07/2006
Label: Max Jazz Records
UPC: 0610614060323
catalogNumber: 603
Rank: 132971


  1. Vitoriosa
  2. Just the Two of Us
  3. Nature's Beauty
  4. Ingenuo
  5. Vieste
  6. Fly So High
  7. In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning
  8. Heaven Here
  9. Comin' Home Baby
  10. I Fall in Love Too Easily
  11. By the Stream
  12. Pamela Elaine
  13. Happy Madness
  14. Time After Time

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Romero Lubambo   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Synthesizer Guitar,Cavaquinho

Technical Credits

Ivan Lins   Composer
Bill Withers   Composer
Bob Dorough   Composer
Ralph MacDonald   Composer
Sammy Cahn   Composer
Bob Hilliard   Composer
Antonio Carlos Jobim   Composer
Romero Lubambo   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Liner Notes,Audio Production
Vitor Martins   Composer
Katsuhiko Naito   Engineer
Pixinguinha (Alfredo Vianna)   Composer
William Salter   Composer
Jule Styne   Composer
Ben Tucker   Composer
Pamela Driggs   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Pressley Jacobs   Art Direction

Customer Reviews