Starter House: A Novel

Starter House: A Novel

by Sonja Condit
3.7 10

Paperback

$14.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, August 16 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Starter House: A Novel by Sonja Condit

Promising talent Sonja Condit makes her debut with Starter House, an eerie and mesmerizing tale about a young couple whose new house holds deadly secrets from the past, sure to appeal to fans of Heart-Shaped Box and The Thirteenth Tale.

From the moment Lacey sees the house with the beautiful wood staircase, she knows she’s found her dream home. Growing up rootless with her flighty mother, Ella Dane, a self-proclaimed psychic, Lacey is determined to give her unborn baby the stability she never had.

But shortly after she and her husband, Eric, move in, the warm and welcoming house becomes cold and dark. There is something malevolent within these walls that wants to hurt her unborn child—a terrifying presence that only she can sense. And there is Drew, a demanding and temperamental little boy who mysteriously appears when Lacey is alone.

To protect her unborn child and save her family, Lacy must discover the truth about her dream house and the troubled Drew—a decades-old mystery involving secrets, violence, and guilt—and confront an evil that has lingered in wait for years.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062283054
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 12/31/2013
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 794,386
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Sonja Condit received her MFA from Converse College, where she studied with Robert Olmstead, Leslie Pietrzyk, R. T. Smith, and Marlin Barton. Her short fiction has appeared in Shenandoah magazine, among other publications. She plays principal bassoon in the Hendersonville Symphony Orchestra and the Greater Anderson Musical Arts Consortium. She teaches at the South Carolina Governor's School for the Arts and Humanities.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Starter House 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absorbing story that I couldn't put down. Ms. Condit's ability to create complex characters is wonderful, and she sets an atmosphere that really pulls you in. Watch for more from her.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TheBibliophilicBookBlog More than 1 year ago
Lacey and Eric Miszlak are expecting their first child and Lacey has found the house of her dreams. Yet there is something strange about their new home that only Lacey seems to sense. Eric is too busy trying to make money to give credence to Lacey’s fears. There is a little boy who keeps showing up in Lacey’s home, but she’s the only one who sees him. What is haunting Lacey’s house and how can she find out what he wants before it is too late? STARTER HOUSE has the feel of an old gothic mystery novel, with a dark presence in the house and the people surrounding Lacey knowing much more than they let on. I enjoyed the mystery, but I wasn’t a fan of the characters. Lacey was too mealy and wishy-washy, Eric was self-absorbed, and the neighbors who should have warned Lacey were out to save their own skin. The only one I did really like was Lacey's mother, the new age hippie type. I did finish STARTER HOUSE just because I wanted to see how it all turned out.
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings A creepy creepy book that I am so thankful that I did not start reading until many months after buying my first house!  Eric and Lacey under financial strains still purchase their first house and upon moving in Lacey starts feeling a spirit that is still living in the home.   I loved the history in the home and how Lacey had to track down where it all began to hopefully solve the mystery.  It was an interesting take on a ghost story and although I am not a fan of ghosts and supernatural, the mystery part of it made it much easier for me to read.  I kind of wish I could have held onto this one for an October read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really wanted this book to be good. The storyline had so much potential. But unfortunately, it just started to become unbelievable. Why would you endanger you and your unborn child and live in a haunted house where the ghost has actually killed people and you know that you are next? I have to say I was truly disappointed and if there was any way I could get my money back, I would.
MyBookAddictionandMore More than 1 year ago
THE STARTER HOUSE by debut author Sonja Condit is an intriguing and eerie,spell binding Paranormal/Haunted House/Ghost set in a cozy cottage in Greeneburg,South Carolina. Lacey Miszlak and her husband Eric finally find their dream house, or is it? Lacey is pregnant with their first child. Filled with a haunted house, a ghost, peril,malevolence,secrets, tragedy,evil, and a quest that takes Lacey from the present to the past for answers. To save herself, her husband, and their unborn child,Lacey must go searching for answers before they become a part of their houses' past. Ms. Condit has penned a story that is haunting, eerie, but intriguing and a hard to put down story. With engaging characters, and a unique storyline. A must read for anyone who enjoys ghosts, haunting, and malevolence. Well done! I look forward to her next story. Received for an honest review from the publisher. RATING: 4 HEAT RATING: Mild REVIEWED BY: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
sneps More than 1 year ago
Creepy Good!! I loved the cover! It’s the window of the “starter house”, and gives the impression that someone is looking out the window…guarding the house. In order to give my review, I need to include 2 disclosures. First, I absolutely HATE, yes, hate, when books are compared to other masterpieces. I can understand there are books that may be similar, evoke the same emotions, and possibly have a similar storyline….but unless the book is a rewrite-it should be a stand-alone and not compared to other books. Period. Secondly, when I read a book, I don’t like to guess what will come next or poke holes in a storyline. Sure, some books may be a little obvious, while others may be a little too hokey and simply unrealistic. However, that is the beauty of books: they are a great escape. It’s not 48 Hours, the TV show. With my two disclosures not shared: I can honestly say that I LOVED this book! I’m a big scaredy cat and definitely will not read any demonic stories. While it’s not a demonic storyline, it’s definitely creepy and kept me reading through the very last page. If you’ve read my posts about e-readers, then you know that I prefer any kind of e-reader device over a paperback. I typically read at bedtime, so finding the “perfect” book light hasn’t happened for me yet. However, I managed to read this book at night, took it everywhere with me, and enjoyed the book to the very end! It has all the elements of a great mystery: flawed characters, who are disconnected, so that they don’t share what they know until the very end (when it’s almost too late), an old house with a history of murders, a neighbor that knows more than he’s willing to share, a realtor that doesn’t want to sell the house but gives in because of a hefty commission, and a mom tuned into the supernatural….as well as the daughter (wife and homeowner). Don’t rush through the book, realize it’s not Amityville House of Horrors (although it comes close), and know that everything will unfold as it needs to-leading up to a great ending! Without giving too much away, I will answer these questions: Why does Lacey seem intent to stay in a home that is obviously haunted? First, she is wanting to give her unborn child what she never had: roots. Also, by the time she realizes she needs to get out, she learns that where she goes-the ghost does too. Why doesn’t Eric leave? Because he’s mounted high in debt and doesn’t want to disappoint his wife, and he also doesn’t want to believe that there is any truth to what is presented to him by Lacey and others. I enjoyed this book and loved how each chapter had a picture of the book cover…..just to remind you that someone is always watching!- BooksintheBurbs