Stealing Home

Stealing Home

by Becky Wallace

Hardcover

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Overview

Fight for your dreams, even if it means breaking a few rules.

"A wonderful baseball story." – Miranda Kenneally, author of Catching Jordan
"This one’s sure to be a home run with readers!" – Katy Upperman, author of Kissing Max Holden
"A strong female protagonist and a swoon-worthy romance, all woven together with wit and charm." – Cheyanne Young, author of The Last Wish of Sasha Cade

Ryan Russell has life perfectly planned. She’s going to take over her family’s team, the Buckley Beavers, and become one of the only female General Managers in minor league baseball.

Then Sawyer Campbell shows up, and Ryan’s carefully laid plans are thrown a major curveball. Sawyer is far more charming than the arrogant jocks she usually manages, though fraternizing is against every rule in the Beaver’s handbook.

But after figuring out the desperate state of the team’s finances, Ryan will have to take risks in order to save her future. She teams up with Sawyer, using his star power to draw in sponsors. But the more time she spends with him, the harder it becomes to play by the rules. Is his partnership the key to saving the Beavers, or a distraction she can’t afford?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781624147647
Publisher: Page Street Publishing
Publication date: 07/09/2019
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 103,678
Product dimensions: 5.80(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.40(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Becky Wallace is the award-winning author of The Storyspinner and The Skylighter. She’s a sucker for slow-burn romances, near-miss kisses, and ordinary people doing extraordinary things. Becky worked for a minor-league baseball team, edited a sports marketing magazine, and toured internationally as a ballroom dancer before settling down in Houston, Texas, with her husband, four children, and one very fluffy puppy. Follow her on Twitter and Instagram @BeckyWallace1

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Stealing Home 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
book_junkee 3 days ago
I had seen so many high reviews for this book and I loved the synopsis, so I was pretty eager to get into this one. Sadly, it was a little disappointing for me. I liked Ryan well enough. She’s smart and knows what she wants and how to go after it. At the same time, she’s quite neglectful of everything that’s not baseball. I get that she loves the team, but she openly admits to not being a good friend to Mia {who might be the best part of the entire story.} Sawyer is respectful and sweet, but I didn’t see the swoons. Plot wise, it felt like a lot of repetition that went nowhere. The build up between the non-existent romance and the rush to save the team lacked tension I was expecting. And it was a bit disappointing to see the relationship finally come to fruition with like 5 pages to go. Overall, it was a quick and cute read, but lacked a spark I was hoping for. I just didn’t see the the same story everyone else did and it makes me sad. **Huge thanks to Page Street for providing the arc free of charge**
taramichelle 6 days ago
Saving Home sounded like it was going to be the perfect YA summer read. Unfortunately, this one didn't quite work for me. There's a decent balance between the romance and the other plot, although both don't really go anywhere for the majority of the book. Then everything happened all at once in the last 10-15 pages. And there wasn't really an adequate build-up to support how either plot ended. Plus, I'm not that familiar with baseball so I was sometimes a bit lost. Ryan was an interesting character, I liked how she was very driven, smart, and never gave up. However, since baseball was all-consuming for her, I never really got a good idea of who she was as a person. I also didn't really get the romance with Sawyer, there wasn't any swoon-factor there for me. But I loved Mia as a character, the scenes with her were the best part of the book. I'm really bummed that this one wasn't for me, particularly because I love a good YA romance and Stealing Home sounded so promising. *Disclaimer: I received this book for free from the publisher. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
taramichelle 6 days ago
Saving Home sounded like it was going to be the perfect YA summer read. Unfortunately, this one didn't quite work for me. There's a decent balance between the romance and the other plot, although both don't really go anywhere for the majority of the book. Then everything happened all at once in the last 10-15 pages. And there wasn't really an adequate build-up to support how either plot ended. Plus, I'm not that familiar with baseball so I was sometimes a bit lost. Ryan was an interesting character, I liked how she was very driven, smart, and never gave up. However, since baseball was all-consuming for her, I never really got a good idea of who she was as a person. I also didn't really get the romance with Sawyer, there wasn't any swoon-factor there for me. But I loved Mia as a character, the scenes with her were the best part of the book. I'm really bummed that this one wasn't for me, particularly because I love a good YA romance and Stealing Home sounded so promising. *Disclaimer: I received this book for free from the publisher. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
Cupcakegirly 10 days ago
Sweet, swoony, and loads of fun, Stealing Home makes for the perfect summer read! This was my first book by Becky Wallace, but it won't be my last. What I Liked: The writing, the characters, the friendships, and especially the romance. Ryan and Sawyer are the kind of characters you want to root for, even if, like me, baseball is not your jam. Theirs is a slow-burn, but believable romance, that kicks off with a hilariously gross Meet Cute. I also enjoyed Mia and Ryan's friendship. It was nice to see the girls supporting each other. What Left Me Wanting More: I was really curious about Sawyer's family and life leading up to when he meets Ryan. Aside from his brother, did he have friends back home? An old girlfriend? And did he resolve things with his Dad? Final Verdict: Fans of Kasie and West Miranda Kenneally will enjoy this one!
kozbisa 10 days ago
Rating: 4.5 Stars Although I never played any sports ball, I LOVE sports romances, and therefore, had to have this book as soon as I heard about it. But, Stealing Home was not your typical sports romance. This was about having a dream, and doing everything you could to make it happen. Sawyer was the number one draft pick for the Buckley Beavers, the minor league team for the Texas Rangers. He hoped to make it to the majors, and earn enough money to help save his family's farm. Ryan also hoped to make a life in baseball. She wanted to be the first female general manager in the sport. However, Sawyer and Ryan's aspirations were threatened, but the two were able to work together to try and save both their dreams. Ryan was incredible. She was so focused and driven, almost to a fault, but I admired her for it. You could tell how much she loved the game, her dad, and the Buckley Beavers. I found all the behind the scenes stuff really interesting, and absolutely loved all her planning and plotting to save the business. Sawyer was also fabulous. He was a baseball playing southern farm boy with a drawl. Be still my heart. He was so sweet and endearing, and his love for his family just made me adore him more. I absolutely had no problem rooting for these two. The romance was of the slow burn variety, but not really by choice. Sawyer and Ryan had to fight their growing attraction, because of the non-fraternization policy, and, well, that resulted in some serious tension. It didn't stop the two from developing a fond friendship, and being there for each other when they really needed someone in their court, but I was 100% behind them making that love connection, because they were a perfectly matched. This book was summer personified. It was warm and sunny, light and easy. It was like a glass of sweet tea on a hot day - refreshing and satisfying, and it made me feel good.