Sustainable Structures: 15 Eco-Conscious Buildings Around the World

Sustainable Structures: 15 Eco-Conscious Buildings Around the World

by Kate McMillan
Sustainable Structures: 15 Eco-Conscious Buildings Around the World

Sustainable Structures: 15 Eco-Conscious Buildings Around the World

by Kate McMillan

Hardcover

$21.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on September 17, 2024
  • PICK UP IN STORE

    Store Pickup available after publication date.

Related collections and offers


Overview

A stunning illustrated overview of “green” architecture on every continent, packed full of cool STEAM facts and fascinating details.

From a waste collection site built entirely from recycled materials, to a school designed to float during flood season in Bangladesh, this dazzling book highlights innovative and sustainably built structures around the world.

Did you know that “woodscrapers,” or skyscrapers made of wood, can reduce construction waste? How about that termite mounds have served as inspiration for temperature control systems? And believe it or not… there’s a research station built on skis in Antarctica.

Pairing a kid friendly, conversational approach with spectacularly detailed art, Kate McMillan dissects the design of 15 eco-friendly buildings worldwide. The extraordinary structures fall into five categories, each emphasizing a key element of sustainable design: 1) local materials, 2) adaptability, 3) sustainable construction, 4) clean energy, and 5) optimized space.

Readers of all ages will love poring over the precise, colorful illustrations and informative close ups featured on eye catching double-page spreads. Perfect for budding architects and engineers, this book is a work of art!

Books for a Better Earth™ are designed to inspire children to become active, knowledgeable participants in caring for the planet they live on.

A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780823455669
Publisher: Holiday House
Publication date: 09/17/2024
Series: Books for a Better Earth
Pages: 80
Product dimensions: 10.00(w) x 10.00(h) x (d)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Kate McMillan studied architecture at Yale and Norwegian boat building through the Mortimer Hayes-Brandeis Fellowship. Eventually, she made her way out to Los Angeles where she is a visual development artist for DreamWorks TV. In her free time, she enjoys building furniture and strange instruments, writing, and drawing wobbly buildings that look like they might fall down. This is her debut book for children. Find her on Instagram @katemcmillanart

  • Kids interested in the environment, engineering, architecture, and design
  • Fans of The Way Things Work, Stephen Biesty's cross section masterpieces, DK Eyewitness books, and other large format nonfiction
  • Educators and librarians looking for STEM books with high visual interest and low word count
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews