Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Sweet Like Jasmine: Finding Identity in a Culture of Loneliness

Sweet Like Jasmine: Finding Identity in a Culture of Loneliness

by Bonnie Gray


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, July 11


This is the story of God whispering, “What no one wants, I cherish.”

The daughter of a mail-order bride and a busboy from San Francisco’s Chinatown, Bonnie Gray grew up never truly feeling beautiful or beloved. As an adult, she built her life to look pleasant and ordinary, with a wonderful husband, two amazing boys, and a thriving career. But despite these blessings, she still felt the tugging emptiness of a missing piece.

At 39, a long-forgotten birth certificate in an old file cabinet sparked a curiosity Bonnie couldn’t ignore. Determined to uncover her family’s secrets and understand the home she was born into, Bonnie embarked on a quest that would leave her forever changed. Returning to the culture, places, and stories that shaped her, her search led her to soul-shaking discoveries about her identity, human kindness and what it truly means to belong.

The profoundly moving journey of learning to embrace our true worth, Sweet Like Jasmine celebrates how God uses our unique and broken stories to create a beautiful mosaic of His love, one life at a time.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780736983426
Publisher: Harvest House Publishers
Publication date: 10/05/2021
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 226,920
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Bonnie Gray is the author of Whispers of Rest and Finding Spiritual Whitespace. An inspirational speaker as well as the host of the podcast Breathe, Bonnie touches thousands of lives every year using storytelling, soul care, and prayer. Her writing is featured in numerous Christian media outlets including Relevant Magazine and Christianity Today. She lives in California with her husband and two sons. Connect with her at and on Instagram @thebonniegray.

Table of Contents

Introduction 9

Birth Certificate 11

The Silk Dress 19

The Candy Store 27

Strange Medicine 35

Bookstore 45

Noodle Shop 55

Vegetable Stand 63

Women in the Mirror 71

Fate 79

College 91

My Mother's Daughter 99

Homeland 107

Lotus Flower 117

Survivor's Guilt 125

Limbo 135

Red Bean Dessert 143

Earthquake 151

Cut Up 157

Family Code 165

Normal 173

Gift Basket 179

Double Happiness 189

Chinese Hospital 197

The Bakery 205

Scars 213

Dim Sum 221

The Cup 227

Cable Car 233

Homecoming 245

Parting Words 251

Notes 253

Customer Reviews