B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
The 13th Continuum: The Continuum Trilogy, Book 1

The 13th Continuum: The Continuum Trilogy, Book 1

by Jennifer Brody


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, July 1


Gold Medal Winner, Young Adult Fiction - Fantasy/Sci-Fi, Independent Publisher's Moonbeam Children's Book Awards

One thousand years after a cataclysmic event leaves humanity on the brink of extinction, the descendants of the chosen survivors take refuge in thirteen contingency shelters buried deep underground, at the bottom of the ocean, and in the far reaches of outer space. In the underwater 13th Continuum, sixteen-year-old Myra Jackson has heard rumors and whisperings all her life of a magical place called "The Surface" where people could breathe fresh air, feel the warmth of something called sunlight on their skin, and see things known as stars and trees and mountains. Myra has never dared to ask whether the stories are true, since the act of speaking such words aloud is an offense punishable by death. But after she discovers that the air supply aboard her underwater colony is running out, she realizes that her only hope for survival is to find this mysterious place. To get there, she must first recover the only guide to the Surface-the Beacon, an ancient device that also connects her to Captain Aero Wright, a dashing young soldier from one of the only remaining space colonies. With the fate of all humankind depending on them, Myra and Aero must escape the tyrannical forces that rule their colonies, journey through the black depths of the ocean and across the cold void of space, to find each other on the Surface that their ancestors once called home.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781681622545
Publisher: Turner Publishing Company
Publication date: 04/19/2016
Series: The Continuum Trilogy , #1
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 416
Sales rank: 980,196
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.30(d)
Age Range: 12 - 18 Years

About the Author

Jennifer Brody lives and writes in Los Angeles. After graduating from Harvard University, she began her career in feature film development. Highlights include working at New Line Cinema on many projects, including The Lord of the Rings trilogy, The Golden Compass, and Love In The Time of Cholera. She’s a member of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America. She also founded and runs BookPod, a social media platform for authors with hundreds of members. This is her first book.

Table of Contents

Chapter 0 The Doom 1

Part I Post Doom 17

Excerpts from the Journal of President Elijah Wade 19

Records of the Government of the Thirteenth Continuum 21

Chapter 1 No Dissenters 25

Chapter 2 The Engineer's Daughter 29

Chapter 3 The First Warning 37

Chapter 4 Teach You a Lesson 43

Chapter 5 The Sentencing 53

Chapter 6 The Trial 61

Chapter 7 The Animus Machine 69

Chapter 8 The Heathens 79

Part II The Return From Exile 89

The Second Continuum 91

Chapter 9 No Mercy in the Face of Weakness 93

Chapter 10 The Secret Room 105

Chapter 11 Stern's Quest 113

Chapter 12 Invasion of Privacy 119

Chapter 13 Possibilities 129

Chapter 14 Contraband 135

Chapter 15 No One Is Safe 141

Chapter 16 The Clinic 145

Chapter 17 Just Ask the Computer 153

Chapter 18 The Order of the Foundry 161

Chapter 19 It's Better If You Stink 167

Part III The Beacons 181

Chapter 20 Relations of Heathens 183

Chapter 21 Enemies Closer 185

Chapter 22 The Red Planet 195

Chapter 23 The Initium Ceremony 205

Chapter 24 Midnight Intruders 215

Chapter 25 Collateral Damage 217

Chapter 26 The Communis Store 225

Chapter 27 The Least Among You 235

Part IV Aeternus Eternus 245

Chapter 28 The World That Was 247

Chapter 29 A Blessed Gift 249

Chapter 30 Recreation 257

Chapter 31 Malfunction 259

Chapter 32 Two Names 269

Chapter 33 Til Death Do Us Part 271

Chapter 34 Only the Strongest Shall Lead Us 277

Chapter 35 The Dream That Was Not a Dream 283

Chapter 36 Bonded 289

Chapter 37 A Rare Visitor 301

Chapter 38 The Waiting 305

Chapter 39 The Penitentiary 317

Part V The Surface 320

Chapter 40 A Duel to the Death 331

Chapter 41 Deliverance or Oblivion 337

Chapter 42 Dirty Tricks 347

Chapter 43 Kill Them AH 355

Chapter 44 Interference 365

Chapter 45 The Midnight Zone 375

Chapter 46 Marooned 385

Epilogue: The Door in the Wall 397

Acknowledgments 401

About the Author 403

Customer Reviews