The Beginning of Wisdom

The Beginning of Wisdom

by Dennis L. Ayers
The Beginning of Wisdom

The Beginning of Wisdom

by Dennis L. Ayers


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, February 27
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Do modern Christians really know
WHAT they believe and
WHY they believe it?

The mists of time and erroneous teaching have obscured the fact that we once knew the answers to the problems that now threaten to unravel our lives and our civilization. These traditional solutions are grounded upon a foundation of Judeo-Christian faith, values, ethics, and morality without which nothing else in Western civilization works as designed. The Beginning of Wisdom leads the reader to understand that Christianity is much more than a religion for Sundays and moments of crisis.

Grounded in historical and biblical precedent, this book provides answers to many questions causing deep confusion in both the Christian faith and society in general. Written from a Christian worldview by an executive/attorney seasoned in the challenges of achieving success in a rapidly evolving culture, The Beginning of Wisdom is, in fact, a book about virtually everything that truly matters.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781632133601
Publisher: Untreed Reads Publishing
Publication date: 05/16/2017
Pages: 276
Sales rank: 1,159,063
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.62(d)

About the Author

Dennis R. Ayers is a retired healthcare executive, licensed attorney, and Eagle Scout who holds advanced degrees from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and Wake Forest University. He formerly served as president of Lexington Medical Center in Lexington, North Carolina. He has previously published an article in the Wake Forest Law Review. He now lives with his wife of thirty-nine years in North Carolina. He enjoys travel, hiking, and the study of history, theology, and literature. He believes that the ability to persevere, and the willingness to learn from the lessons taught by life, history, and the Bible, hold the keys to future wisdom, success and godly fulfillment.

Table of Contents

Preface—The Rules of Life Never Change

Chapter 1: Your Greatest Adventure

Chapter 2: Wisdom

Chapter 3: Believe

Chapter 4: The Indispensable Guide

Chapter 5: Hearing the Voice of God

Chapter 6: An Ancient Burden?

Chapter 7: Four Great Secrets

Secret 1—Purpose

Secret 2—Love

Secret 3—Patience

Secret 4—Mission

Chapter 8: The Nature of Life

Chapter 9: The Values of Western Civilization

Chapter 10: A Lamp Against the Darkness

Chapter 11: Rejecting the Devil’s Etiquette

Chapter 12: Of Guns, Capitalism, and Religion Guns Capitalism Religion Summary

Chapter 13: We Are Virtually Never Entitled

Chapter 14: Understanding Evil

Chapter 15: A Good First Impression

Chapter 16: Scouting the Trail to Heaven

Chapter 17: The Peace of Innocent Faith

Chapter 18: Debts of Honor

Chapter 19: Take Care of Yourself

Chapter 20: Avoiding the Bonfires of History

Chapter 21: Faith

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews