The Burning Land

The Burning Land

by David O. Stewart
The Burning Land

The Burning Land

by David O. Stewart



Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Related collections and offers

LEND ME® See Details


In 1861, Henry and Katie have found love on the rugged Maine coast. He builds boats. She wants to teach school whenever her family duties relent. Their hearts are light and the future looks bright. Then America explodes in civil war.

At first surprised by Katie's anti-slavery feelings, then persuaded, Henry enlists in the 20th Maine Infantry, fated to become a legendary regiment in the Union Army. Staggering through a dozen brutal battles, including the desperate defense of Little Round Top at Gettysburg, he rises to sergeant. Katie, working on short-term teaching contracts, organizes neighbor women to make warm items for Maine's men in uniform. Quiet letters between Henry in army camps and Katie at home strengthen their love. Finally receiving a brief furlough, he hurries home for a rushed wedding and precious hours as man and wife.

But history's grip is fierce.

A ghastly battlefield wound ends Henry's war. Katie nurses him through a long recuperation, but they cannot agree—should they return to Maine or join America's mad flight westward? Ultimately transplanted to booming Chicago, little goes right for them in that overnight metropolis, which will test their strength and commitment as never before.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940185668658
Publisher: Knox Press
Publication date: 04/04/2023
Series: The Overstreet Saga , #2
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: eBook
File size: 7 MB

About the Author

After many years as a trial and appellate lawyer, David O. Stewart became a bestselling writer of history and historical fiction. His first novel, The Lincoln Deception, was about the John Wilkes Booth Conspiracy. Sequels include The Paris Deception, set at the Paris Peace Conference in 1919, and The Babe Ruth Deception, which follows Babe’s early years with the Yankees. Released in November 2021, The New Land began the Overstreet Saga.

David’s histories explore the writing of the Constitution, the gifts of James Madison, the western expedition and treason trial of Aaron Burr, and the impeachment of President Andrew Johnson. In February 2021, Dutton published his George Washington: The Political Rise of America’s Founding Father.

For more information visit
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews