The Curing Room

The Curing Room

by Michael Winn

NOOK Book(eBook)

FREE View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

"...a superb thriller." -IndieReader

Nothing is what is seems. A horrific accident. A dead girl. A long-held secret. All the lies and deceit lead to the same mysterious room. This psychologically astute, character-driven thriller unfolds within a sleepy New England college town where Ava Marie Stassi is a young, adjunct professor struggling to advance her career while coping with a recent break-up. After tragedy unexpectedly strikes, Ava is forced by circumstance to match wits against a volatile student, Jared, who brings pent-up hostility fueled by a dark past into her quiet, mundane life...and into The Curing Room.

"...a psychological thriller with an unforgettable twist." -Foreword Clarion

THE CURING ROOM by Michael Winn is smartly written and expertly crafted novel written in the tradition of Megan Abbott, Ian McEwan, Kate Atkinson, Sarah Waters, and, of course, Gillian Flynn. Fans of the great, modern thriller authors will be enthralled by Michael Winn's foray into the dark recesses of the human psyche.

"THE CURING ROOM is an intelligent psychological thriller expertly crafted and brilliantly told." -IndieReader

Product Details

BN ID: 2940161751282
Publisher: MW Publications
Publication date: 11/17/2018
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 211,943
File size: 602 KB

About the Author

Michael Winn lives in Long Island, New York with his wife and two children. He writes smart, well-crafted, and often darkly humorous psychological thrillers and Christian books.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Curing Room 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous 11 months ago
Michael Winn has put to page a cerebral drama which competes with the best. The opening exposition reminds me of Lester Burnham's voiceover narration in the classic film American Beauty. It bears some resemblance to Sunset Boulevarde as well, but overall I definitely received an "American Beauty" sort of impression, possibly due to the comfortable upper-middle class academic backdrop and quiet scenery of the text. There is something eerie about a character who sees and describes their past self before the tragic occurs, and the case of The Curing Room this effect doubles in hindsight. On the whole, Winn's novel presents a very palatable selection of details, setting, and character. Beginning with a serendipitous tap on the shoulder (metaphorically speaking / courtesy of the fates), Winn's primary character Ava must navigate her existence as an adjunct professor on campus, handle the anxiety of aging without discernible career progress, and then witnesses the death of a first year student alongside the novel's second main character, Jared. If you are a fan of abstract, introspective stories with a hint of underlying terror or danger (think The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold), it's likely that you would enjoy this book. The author's vocabulary shines but does not blind. It feels authentic and suitable to the New England setting without coming across as self-consciously polysyllabic or dictionary-derived. Combing through the initial reactions of others, I notice there have been comparisons made between Winn's work and that of a long time favorite of mine, Ian McEwan (specifically his novel, Atonement). If anything I would argue that Winn sets himself apart by holding himself to extraordinary standards of character complexity, suspense, and insular self v. self conflict. McEwan's story relied more on the drama of WWII setting, the framed narrative device, and the writer-within-the-story trope. The Curing Room feels wrought in a solid manner, less bells and whistles, less post-modern flourish (unless you count having dual narration). It's an interesting and engaging read simply because the author crafted it with fine taste and detail. Not that it's boring like a Dickens novel. It's simple, dark and mahogany like a Bronte but with perhaps a few more plot twists. Final note: a bit of warning to prospective readers. Be prepared with a Wikipedia page bookmarked on the topic of Game Theory. The characters in The Curing Room play quite Machiavellian with one another. Keep up, and enjoy what appears to be a new gem.
hma123 11 months ago
“The Curing Room” by Michael Winn is a psychological thriller that defies categorization. It will not fit into any mold and that is what makes the story so unique. College English professor Ava Marie Stassi witnesses a horrific accident while walking to an interview on campus. She overhears another student give a girl the wrong directions, but before she can help the girl is crushed to death by a garbage truck. The student giving the wrong directions is Jared McCabe. He is a disgruntled, unstable and angry young man – a psychology major – who is taking summer classes he has previously failed. He has a sudden jolt of clarity as he watches the accident happen. The novel is told from the point of view of Ava and Jared alternately. This kept the tension tight. I swung back and forth in my opinions on what exactly was happening and who was the “bad guy.” One chapter had me convinced Jared was unstable and psychotic (he admits to killing his younger brother early on.) He was responsible for giving the student the wrong direction. Did he plan the entire thing? The reader is in for a jolt. This novel had me guessing to the very end. My partner heard me gasp at the end – that, I believe is the mark of a true craftsman and storyteller! Don’t miss this one!
Mholttt 11 months ago
The Curing Room is an excellent thriller that derives from the mind of Ava, our protagonist. The book follows her life as a college professor and gives an in-depth look at her thoughts through some extremely intense psychological situations. The first one being a witness of the death of a girl. Ava's commentary and her thoughts on these situations are really what keeps the reader invested. The author does an excellent job at keeping up with imagery throughout. The way he describes her thoughts really make it feel like your own. You get a sense of a quirky, nerdy, analytical woman who truly has a lot of inner dialouge that is extremely deep. Ava's mind and the way she responds on the outside is very realistic. Putting the thoughts of her into your head makes you understand and relate to her. The way each chapter starts draws me into the book even more. There is certainly a sense of 'what is going to happen next in her life.' The author has a good way of building up a situation and then slamming on the gas pedal, metaphorically that is. Just at the right time a big thing happens in her life and it really takes the reader into a strange moment. This is truly a psychological thriller. I would recommend this book if you're looking for a thriller with some seriously good inner dialogue and imagery. You can easily fall in love with the protagonist and the story itself is very intense. This is not for the faint of heart. There are some really graphic things in here. Overall, that makes the book even more worth the read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent read..one of the best thrillers I’ve read in a long time