The Dead of Winter (Hemlock County Series)

The Dead of Winter (Hemlock County Series)

by David Poyer
The Dead of Winter (Hemlock County Series)

The Dead of Winter (Hemlock County Series)

by David Poyer


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, December 12
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


MURDER IN THE DEEP WOODS. "It was on that first day of the hunt, an hour after dawn, that the old man found the body of the boy." This classic novel of crime and revenge in deer-hunting country opens on the first day of buck season in remote Hemlock County, Pennsylvania. Long-retired hunter and reclusive hermit W.T. Halvorsen discovers the victim of what at first seems like a hunting accident. After the funeral, the victim's father, Dr. Paul Michelson, begins a search for the killer who shot his son, then walked away, letting him bleed to death in the snow. When Michelson too vanishes, his lover Teresa Del Rosario follows him to Hemlock County, fighting her growing fear he has murder in mind. As terror stalks the deep woods, Halvorsen pits his tracking and shooting skills against those of his human enemy in a deadly cat-and-mouse game deep in the Kinningmahontawany Wild Area. An epic tale of justice, survival, and two utterly determined men hunting each other through the snow-shrouded hills and ravines in the greatest blizzard in twenty years. Hemlock County is Poyer's fictional re-creation and evocation of the country and people where he grew up. There are five books in the series: The Dead of Winter, Winter in the Heart, As the Wolf Loves Winter, Thunder on the Mountain, and The Hill.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781937997410
Publisher: Northampton House Press
Publication date: 04/16/2014
Series: Hemlock County Series , #1
Pages: 254
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.58(d)
Age Range: 1 - 17 Years

About the Author

Millions of copies of Dave Poyer's thirty-plus books are in print, including THE MED, THE GULF, THE CIRCLE, THE PASSAGE, TOMAHAWK, CHINA SEA, BLACK STORM, THE COMMAND, THE THREAT, KOREA STRAIT, THE WEAPON, THE CRISIS, and THE TOWERS, USA Today best-selling novels of the modern Navy and Marine Corps; and FIRE ON THE WATERS, A COUNTRY OF OUR OWN, and THAT ANVIL OF OUR SOULS, historical fiction set during the Civil War. Northampton House has also republished two of his stand-alone early thrillers, THE ONLY THING TO FEAR and WHITE CONTINENT. His work has been translated into Japanese, Dutch, and Italian, and rights have been sold for films and audiobooks. He currently teaches fiction and memoir in the Creative Writing program at Wilkes University, Wilkes-Barre, PA
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews