The Defector: A Novel

The Defector: A Novel

by Chris Hadfield
The Defector: A Novel

The Defector: A Novel

by Chris Hadfield

eBook

$14.99 

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Related collections and offers


Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

From a guy who knows his way around a cockpit comes an exhilarating thriller set in the Cold War space race. The sequel to The Apollo Murders is just as riveting and practically impossible to put down.

From a New York Times bestselling author, astronaut, and fighter pilot comes a "full-throttle, adrenaline-laced espionage page-turner" (Jack Carr, New York Times bestselling author) and Cold War thriller perfect for fans of Top Gun and The Hunt for Red October.

Israel, October 1973. As the Yom Kippur War flares into life, a state-of-the-art Soviet MiG fighter plane plummets to an unexpected landing. NASA Flight Controller and former US test pilot Kaz Zemeckis watches from the ground—unaware that its arrival will pull him into a high-stakes game of spies, lies, and secrets that hold the key to Cold War air and space supremacy.

For within that plane is a Soviet pilot pleading to defect, offering a prize beyond value: the workings of the Soviets' mythical "Foxbat" MiG-25, the fastest, highest-flying fighter plane in the world. But trusting him is risky, and Kaz must tread a careful line. As Kaz accompanies the defector into the United States, to the military’s most secret test site, he must hope that, with skill and cunning, the game plays out his way. 

Rich with insider detail and political intrigue drawn from real events, The Defector is a propulsive thriller from a growing master of the genre, filled with the nerve-shredding rush of aerial combat as it could only be told by one of the world's best fighter pilots.
 
"Wondering what to do until Top Gun 3 arrives?  Don't worry, Hadfield's got it covered.” —Rowland White

“Brimming with detail and realism and full of pulse-pounding action.” —Mark Greaney

"Hadfield’s writing is superb. Fans of The Apollo Murders will seek out this one, but newcomers will also thoroughly enjoy it.” —Booklist


Praise for The Apollo Murders
 
“A Cold War thriller packed with cosmic action.” —New York Times

“An exciting journey into an alternate past.” —Andy Weir, author of The Martian

“Propulsive . . . a space race thrill ride.” —Newsweek

 “An intelligent and surprising nail-biter that Tom Clancy fans will relish.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780316565042
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Publication date: 10/10/2023
Series: The Apollo Murders Series , #2
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: eBook
Sales rank: 71,789
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

About The Author
Colonel Chris Hadfield is one of the most seasoned and accomplished astronauts in the world. A multiple New York Times bestselling author, his books An Astronaut's Guide to Life on Earth, You Are Here, The Darkest Dark and The Apollo Murders have sold over a million copies worldwide. 

As well as his time as a Cold War pilot, Chris is a veteran of three spaceflights. He crewed the US Space Shuttle twice, piloted the Russian Soyuz, helped build space station Mir, conducted two space walks, and served as Commander of the International Space Station. He was also NASA's Director of Operations in Russia. 

Chris is the co-creator and host of the BBC series Astronauts: Do You Have What It Takes? and helped create and host, along with actor Will Smith, the National Geographic series One Strange Rock. His zero-gravity version of David Bowie's 'Space Oddity' has received more than 50 million views, and his TED talk on fear over 10 million. 

He advises SpaceX, Virgin Galactic and other space companies, chairs the board of the Open Lunar Foundation, leads the CDL-Space international tech incubator, and teacher a MasterClass on space operations.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews