The English Teacher

The English Teacher

Paperback

$12.64 $16.00 Save 21% Current price is $12.64, Original price is $16. You Save 21%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Monday, July 23 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

The English Teacher by Yiftach Reicher Atir

For readers of John Le Carré and viewers of Homeland, a slow-burning psychological spy-thriller by a former brigadier general of intelligence in the Israeli army

One of The Washington Post's 10 Best mystery books and thrillers of 2016

After attending her father’s funeral, former Mossad agent Rachel Goldschmitt empties her bank account and disappears. But when she makes a cryptic phone call to her former handler, Ehud, the Mossad sends him to track her down. Finding no leads, he must retrace her career as a spy to figure out why she abandoned Mossad before she can do any damage to Israel. But he soon discovers that after living under cover for so long, an agent’s assumed identity and her real one can blur, catching loyalty, love, and truth between them. In the midst of a high-risk, high-stakes investigation, Ehud begins to question whether he ever knew his agent at all.
 
In The English Teacher, Yiftach R. Atir drew on his own experience in intelligence to weave a psychologically nuanced thriller that explores the pressures of living under an assumed identity for months at a time.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780143129189
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 08/30/2016
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 170,292
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Yiftach Reicher Atir was born in 1949 on Kibbutz Shoval, in the south of Israel. As a young commando officer, he participated in Operation Entebbe and other military and intelligence operations before retirement with the rank of Brigadier General (Intelligence). The English Teacher is his third novel.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The English Teacher 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
litpixie More than 1 year ago
First, I have to say that I received an ARC of this book by the publisher to read and review the book. Since high school I have flipped to the back of the book to learn what happens to the characters. Which man did the heroine chose, who died, etc. This was a book I wanted to follow along and let the ending surprise me. It's about a woman named Rachel who is a spy for the Mossad living in an unnamed Arab capital city. After the death of her father Rachel calls her old handler Ehud and gives him a code that lets him know she's leaving her present life. The Mossad quickly must find Rachel and get her to return to Israel. The bulk of the story is told by Ehud telling their story to his former handler Joe. As Ehud tells Joe the story we get Rachel's impressions of the story as well. The book's pacing keeps you reading and wanting to let the story play out. This is the first novel of Yidtach R. Atir and I can't wait for the next novel. This is definitely a book to add to your TBR pile.