The Essential Van Morrison

The Essential Van Morrison

by Van Morrison Van Morrison
The Essential Van Morrison

The Essential Van Morrison

by Van Morrison Van Morrison


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, December 5


Timed to coincide with the first-ever digital release of the bulk of Van Morrison's catalog, 2015's The Essential Van Morrison is an idiosyncratic double-disc retrospective that runs from Them until a selection from 2009's Astral Weeks: Live at the Hollywood Bowl. Career-spanning anthologies are a rarity in Morrison's discography, as are compilations in general; apart from the endless march of Bang material, he's only had 1990's The Best of Van Morrison and its 1993 sequel, The Best of Van Morrison, Vol. 2, plus 2007's Still on Top: The Greatest Hits. The Essential Van Morrison doesn't merely recycle these compilations. It carves its own path, placing his best-known material from the '60s and '70s on the first disc, then covering 1979 and beyond on the second collection. This is a smart move because the truth is, Morrison never had many hits: the last time he crested the Billboard Top 40 was in 1971, when "Blue Money" made it to 23, while his last time in the U.K. Top 40 came in 1989, when "Whenever God Shines His Light" reached 20 with the assistance of Cliff Richard. The latter is here but the former joins "Come Running" as the two biggest omissions here -- other smaller ones are the non-LP "Wonderful Remark," "Full Force Gale," and "A Sense of Wonder" -- but even with their absence, The Essential Van Morrison covers all the necessary ground, delivering the staples while giving a sense of the full run of Morrison's career.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 08/28/2015
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0888751290624
catalogNumber: 512906
Rank: 3681


Disc 1

  1. Gloria (With Them)
  2. Here Comes the Night (With Them)
  3. Spanish Rose
  4. Brown Eyed Girl
  5. Astral Weeks
  6. The Way Young Lovers Do
  7. Moondance
  8. Crazy Love
  9. And It Stoned Me
  10. Into the Mystic
  11. Domino
  12. Wild Night
  13. Tupelo Honey
  14. Jackie Wilson Said (I'm in Heaven When You Smile)
  15. Warm Love
  16. Fair Play
  17. Caravan
  18. Hungry for Your Love
  19. Cleaning Windows

Disc 2

  1. Bright Side of the Road
  2. And the Healing Has Begun
  3. Tore Down a la Rimbaud
  4. Someone Like You
  5. Irish Heartbeat
  6. Whenever God Shines His Light
  7. Have I Told You Lately
  8. Real Real Gone
  9. Enlightenment
  10. Why Must I Always Explain?
  11. Days Like This
  12. That's Life
  13. Rough God Goes Riding
  14. Precious Time (Remastered)
  15. Once in a Blue Moon
  16. Magic Time
  17. Playhouse
  18. Sweet Thing

Album Credits

Customer Reviews