The First One to Die: An unputdownable crime thriller

The First One to Die: An unputdownable crime thriller

by Victoria Jenkins

Paperback

$10.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, January 31
MARKETPLACE
12 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Overview

Four friends. A house full of secrets. And a killer picking them off one by one...



She tried to break her fall, twisting desperately, but there was nothing to catch hold of, nothing with which she could stop herself. Her single scream cut through the night air.



Keira North falls to her death at a party. It initially seems like an accident, but Detectives Alex King and Chloe Lane suspect foul play: they are convinced they are dealing with a murder.



When the detectives start to investigate, they soon find that all of Keira's closest friends have secrets that someone might kill to keep.



And as Alex and Chloe are fighting their own demons and struggling to stay on top of the case, Keira’s killer is circling the group of friends, who one by one find that their lives are in danger…



The First One to Die is a heart-stopping and shocking detective thriller that will have you gripped until the very last page. Perfect for fans of Patricia Gibney, Angela Marsons, and Val McDermid.

What readers are saying about Victoria Jenkins:



'An incredibly compelling and gripping read. The book had me glued to the pages as the investigation into the murder victim unfolded and various layers of the skilfully crafted plot came together. I stayed up way too late in a desperate attempt to finish as the team races against the clock to save another potential victim. This is an incredible debut by Victoria Jenkins and a thrilling and exciting start to a new series.' Novel Deelights, 5 stars



'A wonderfully gripping story that makes me excited for book 2!' Breakfast at Shelby's



'The first word that comes into my head is WOW! This book was fantastic, I loved it. I literally binge read it because I couldn't put it down. The characters were complex and very likeable and I can't wait to see them again in the next instalment. This was a really good book, if I could give it 6 stars I would.' Bonnie's Book Talk



'This book is so far my favourite UK mystery.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars.



'This book has everything, a great plot, well developed characters that you become truly invested in and a very clever perpetrator that is determined to make his mark. If you love thrilling police procedurals, this book is a must!!' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781786813145
Publisher: StoryFire LTD
Publication date: 11/15/2017
Series: Detectives King and Lane , #2
Pages: 328
Sales rank: 846,688
Product dimensions: 5.06(w) x 7.81(h) x 0.69(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The First One to Die: An unputdownable crime thriller 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
AliTheDragonSlayer More than 1 year ago
I’m beginning to think the covers of Victoria’s books alone should speak for themselves. This one is every bit as delightful as the previous book, The Girls in the Water which I read and enjoyed. So it was great to catch up with the female duo King and Lane in The First One To Die. We had a lot of detailed background on these two detectives in the first story so I would recommend reading that to achieve a greater understanding. This time it is slightly more focused on the crime rather than family issues although they are still covered. I like the balance here and fairly flew through the pages. The First One To Die has all the makings of a brilliant slasher ‘movie’ as soon as a body appears you know you are going to have the secrets, lies, false leads etc and the author has a knack of keeping the reader guessing. If you like unravelling mysteries that are tense and gritty look no further. Another fabulous offering in this series and I’m sure book three will ramp up another notch. Thanks to the author, publisher and netgalley for my copy which I read and reviewed voluntarily.
booklover- More than 1 year ago
A young college student falls to her death from a rooftop. An accident? Was she pushed? Picked up and tossed? DI Alex King and DC Chloe Lane are called to investigate. Interviewing her housemates, they find that the victim was well-liked, had no enemies ... but someone did hear her arguing with someone a few minutes before she went off the roof. Postmortem examination reveals that she was 5 months pregnant ... but who was the father? Alex’s team soon finds that all of her closest friends have secrets that someone might kill to keep. She was only the first to die. Although second in a series, this one is easily read as a stand alone. The characters are finely drawn and credible. Alex has some issues that she's dealing with, but maintaining her professionalism to find a killer. There are several plot changing twists and turns that keep the reader engaged and rapidly reading each page to the surprising ending. Many thanks to the author / Bookouture / Netgalley for the digital copy of this crime fiction. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Firstly, many thanks to @netgalley, @bookoutre and the author, Victoria Jenkins for a preview copy of this book. This is a well crafted, descriptive whodunnit thriller, with fully formed characters. It really kept my interest and had many twists and turns. There is also an element within the book that refers to Dementia and this is handled so sensitively. There's a great combination of characters with background stories and drama that really added to the overall storyline and I look forward to reading more about the main character, Alex, in future books. A really good read.
MonnieR More than 1 year ago
Four things I gravitate toward when I have a spare 15 or 20 minutes: Playing word puzzles on my smartphone, seeing what my family and friends are up to on Facebook, looking for a snack in the kitchen cupboard and polishing off another chapter or two of whatever book I'm reading. Accordingly, one of the ways I know I'm loving the book I'm reading is when the other three options go by the boards. That certainly was the case here - so besides being a little hungry, I'm now faced with major catching up to do on my phone and Facebook. This is the second book featuring South Wales detective partners Alex King and Chloe Lane, and I admit I didn't read the first, "The Girls in the Water." No matter; at no time did I notice any "holes" that made me wonder what had gone on before. As this one begins, Chloe is bunking with Alex and contemplating a more permanent hookup with another department detective. Alex's mostly estranged mother has taken a turn for the worse health-wise, and a young woman named Keira North took a fatal fall from an open window during a party. The latter looks like an accident, but to Alex and Chloe, it doesn't pass the smell test. As they begin to investigate, they quickly learn that four of Keira's housemate friends may not be as innocent as they appear. And then - just when they start to think they're on the right track - another one bites the dust. Yet another cog hits the wheel when a young woman ends up in the hospital following an overdose; that case, too, lands squarely in the laps of Alex and Chloe. Could it be that someone is trying to wipe out all of Keira's housemates one by one? If so, why - and perhaps more important, who? And while no one thinks the murders and overdose cases are connected, the way things are going, anything is possible. The result is that Alex and Chloe are led in many directions, providing twists, turns and surprises for readers as well. All in all, this is a very well-written book with interesting characters - and a series I've put on my must-read list going forward. Many thanks to the publisher, via NetGalley, for the opportunity to read and review it.