The Homestead: The Dakota Series, Book 1

The Homestead: The Dakota Series, Book 1

by Linda Byler


$13.49 $14.99 Save 10% Current price is $13.49, Original price is $14.99. You Save 10%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, September 26?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


The Homestead: The Dakota Series, Book 1 by Linda Byler

Hannah is a fifteen-year-old Amish girl who lives on her family’s farm in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. When her family, hit hard by the Great Depression, loses their farm, Hannah’s father decides it’s time for a fresh start. Destitute but inspired by grand plans and dreams of a better future west of Lancaster, he loads his family and what little they have left into their covered wagon.

They settle in North Dakota, hundreds of miles from any Amish community. Hannah’s mother does her best to be a good wife, supporting her husband as they try to build a new life in a wholly unfamiliar place.

Things aren’t going quite as Hannah’s father had imagined—his visions of success are shattered by the reality that his knowledge of farming in Lancaster isn’t of much use in Midwestern soil. With the fields barren and her family on the verge of starvation, Hannah decides to take matters into her own hands. She goes into town looking for a job and finds one at a cattle ranch, where she meets charismatic ranch hand Clay Jenkins.

Clay is drawn to the independent, strong-willed newcomer. As they work together at the ranch, Hannah grapples with her own feelings for Clay, an English boy. Her life is more uncertain than ever. With Hannah’s help, will her family get back on their feet and prosper in North Dakota? And what will happen with Clay Jenkins?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781680992137
Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing
Publication date: 05/02/2017
Series: Linda Byler's Dakota Series , #1
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 199,801
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x (d)
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

About the Author

Linda Byler grew up Amish and is an active member of the Amish church today. She is the author of four bestselling fiction series, all set in the Amish world: Hester's Hunt for Home, Lancaster Burning, Sadie’s Montana, and Lizzie Searches for Love. In addition, Byler has written four Christmas romances: The Little Amish Matchmaker, The Christmas Visitor, Mary’s Christmas Good-Bye, and Becky Meets Her Match. Linda is also well known within the Amish community as a columnist for a weekly Amish newspaper.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Homestead: The Dakota Series, Book 1 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous 9 months ago
I want more and to find out how Hanna’s ranch did.
MaureenST More than 1 year ago
A real pioneering Amish family, traveling to North Dakota, alone, without their community, that is what is so different about this book. The time is the great depression, and the Detweiler family has hit rock bottom, and are trying for a new start with free government land. There is no support system here for this family, and yet God has a way of helping them, wherever they are. Hannah I found to be one gutsy girl, and this family sure wouldn’t have survived without her. Although, she acted like she had a chip on her shoulder, even when people were trying to help her. The author has included a lot about the differences between Pennsylvania and North Dakota as far as farming, and things become so very tough for this family. Was glad when the mom Sarah seemed to grow a backbone, and things are about to change for them, not always for the best, but we don’t get to choose. I did have a hard time getting into this book, but a few chapters in I was hooked, and then the pages flew, and I had to know what happened. Try and stick it out, you won’t be disappointed. I received this book through Edelweiss and the Publisher Good Books, and was not required to give a positive review.