The Jeff Resnick Mystery Collection

The Jeff Resnick Mystery Collection

by L. L. Bartlett

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


This collection contains ix novels. They are:

Murder on the Mind: Murder On The Mind: When a brain injury leaves mugging victim Jeff Resnick able to sense people's secrets, he feels compelled to investigate a murder.

Dead in Red: When a bartender at Jeff Resnick's favorite watering hole is murdered, psychic visions of a sparkling red high-heeled shoe and a pair of bloody hands linger in his mind--and hit too close to home. When Jeff's brother Richard last helped him with an investigation, it nearly cost him his life. Still, Richard is determined to tag along as Jeff is drawn into the seamy world of fetishes and drag queens to find a murderer before another life is taken.

Room At The Inn: Jeff Resnick is out of his element when he and Maggie take a working vacation at a quaint Vermont inn. But when Jeff crosses the threshold, his 6th sense warns him someone will meet a violent death. His anxiety intensifies when he travels on one of the local roads and is overwhelmed by feelings of impending doom. With their own lives at stake, Jeff must use all his wits and skill to bring a ruthless killer to justice.

Cheated By Death: Jeff Resnick faces a new dilemma: someone is stalking his sister-in-law, Brenda, who fears that violence from protesters will escalate near the women's clinic where she works. Or could the vandalism, threatening phone calls and letters against her have come from her abusive ex-husband? Meanwhile, Jeff grapples with meeting his estranged father and the sister he never knew existed. What does Patty Resnick have to gain with Brenda out of the way?

Bound By Suggestion: In exchange for helping her unlock the emotions of a disturbed young woman, psychiatrist Dr. Krista Marsh promises to cure Jeff Resnick's recurring headaches via hypnotism. Things start out rocky and quickly get worse when both the young girl and the Doctor begin to manipulate Jeff. Soon he's experiencing the young woman's emotions and can't tell where hers leave off and his begin, and Krista has other reasons for ingratiating herself into Jeff's life. Meanwhile, Jeff's brother, Richard, is vying for a chairman seat on the hospital's fundraising board. Two seemingly unrelated events that suddenly converge with deadly results.

Dark Waters: For Jeff Resnick, the trouble starts with a near-death experience. Brenda's family comes to visit and one of them reminds Jeff of the thugs who mugged him. His brother has taken possession of an expensive boat. The yacht holds a deadly secret, one destined to turn his world upside down. Will Jeff solve the puzzle before his vision of near death becomes a reality?

Product Details

BN ID: 2940157817114
Publisher: Polaris Press
Publication date: 12/03/2015
Series: Jeff Resnick Series
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 332,532
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

The immensely popular Booktown Mystery series is what put Lorraine Bartlett’s pen name Lorna Barrett on the New York Times Bestseller list, but it’s her talent -- whether writing as Lorna, or L.L. Bartlett, or Lorraine Bartlett -- that keeps her in the hearts of her readers. This multi-published, Agatha-nominated author pens the exciting Jeff Resnick Mysteries as well as the acclaimed Victoria Square Mystery series, Tales of Telenia adventure-fantasy saga, and now the Lotus Bay Mysteries, and has many short stories and novellas to her name(s).

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Jeff Resnick Mystery Collection 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No spoilers. This book includes all the short stories to date as well as all the novels bar the latest, "Shattered Spirits". This series is definitely best read in chronological order. It's a mystery/thriller series with a twist. The lead, Jeff, suffered a major head injury while being mugged. Since then, he's subject to visions and psychic impressions. That being said, it is not really a paranormal series. Before the mugging, Jeff was an in-house investigator for an insurance company. During the healing process, while he's staying in Buffalo with his brother and his brother's long-time girlfriend, Jeff is drawn to a local homicide. The mystery is intricate and smartly done. The characters are well conceived and written. A large part of this series involves the family dynamics between Jeff and his brother. The physical, mental, and social consequences of a serious head injury also play a large role in this series. The author skillfully blends all these elements together to create books that are hard to put down. They are sad, touching, humorous, intelligent, intense, and hopeful. I suggest reading them in the order given, because they jump around in time. The 1st book has Jeff dealing with the mugging and the immediate aftermath. There are a lot of allusions to a complicated family history. As the books progress, they go back and forth in time; explaining more and more about the characters' histories, their complicated family dynamics, and the consequences of their past on their future. In regards to the actual muder mysteries, each book is complete in and of itself.