The King James Men

The King James Men

by Samantha Grosser

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

Jacobean England is brought vividly to life in The King James Men. For fans of Hilary Mantel, C.J. Sansom and Philippa Gregory.

England 1604. King James VI of Scotland has ascended the English throne and the future of the realm is uncertain. Religious differences divide the country, and in a bid to pacify them the king commands a new translation of the bible.Merchant Ben Kemp has already suffered for his faith: three years in prison, and seven more in exile. Now, recently returned to England, he joins a small community of Separatists who have so far escaped persecution. But in an age where non-conformity is a crime, the hunt for dissenters is unrelenting, and the net draws ever closer.Then his old friend, biblical scholar Richard Clarke, is offered a place on the new translation. For Richard it seems like a gift from God, a way back in from the cold where his friendship with Ben has kept him for many years. But Richard soon discovers there is a price to pay for his new-found favour, and that price is betrayal. As the conflict escalates, his loyalties are tested. Caught between love for his friend and faith in his church, Richard is faced with a choice that could cost him his soul.In a rich portrayal of the rivalry and ambitions of Jacobean England, The King James Men is a moving evocation of love, friendship and betrayal.

Praise for The King James Men"An addictive read." - Donna's Book Blog"Intelligent historical fiction … with an excellent story." - Jennifer C. Wilson "The novel brings out some really relevant and important questions about faith, personal integrity and responsibility." - The Book Geek"Fast-paced, an intriguing blend of heart-in-your-throat, bitten nails, warm-fuzzies and air high-fives." - Pursuing Stacie"Intermingled between the beautiful descriptions is an in-depth understanding of history." - Readers' Favorite

Product Details

BN ID: 2940156228768
Publisher: Sam Grosser Books
Publication date: 11/20/2018
Sold by: Draft2Digital
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 597 KB

About the Author

Samantha Grosser was born and raised in Bristol, England.  A varied career has included a number of office jobs, teaching English in Japan and Australia, proofreading, nursing and bookselling.

She now lives in Sydney with her Australian husband and son, and between bouts of writing, works as a Registered Nurse.

Another Time and Place is her first novel.

Customer Reviews