The Last Scoop

The Last Scoop

by R. G. Belsky

Hardcover(None)

$26.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

The scariest kind of serial killer—one you don’t know exists

Martin Barlow was Clare Carlson's first newspaper editor, a beloved mentor who inspired her career as a journalist. But, since retiring from his newspaper job, he had become a kind of pathetic figure—railing on about conspiracies, cover-ups, and other imaginary stories he was still working on. Clare had been too busy with her own career to pay much attention to him.

When Martin Barlow is killed on the street one night during an apparent mugging attempt gone bad, it seems like he was just an old man whose time had come.

But Clare—initially out of a sense of guilt for ignoring her old friend and then because of her own journalistic instincts—begins looking into his last story idea. As she digs deeper and deeper into his secret files, she uncovers shocking evidence of a serial killer worse than Son of Sam, Ted Bundy, or any of the other infamous names in history.

This really is the biggest story of Martin Barlow's career—and Clare's, too—as she uncovers the path leading to the decades-long killer of at least twenty young women. All is not as it seems during Clare's relentless search for this serial killer. Is she setting herself up to be his next victim?

Clare Carlson is perfect for fans of Sue Grafton's Kinsey Millhone and Sara Paretsky's V.I. Warshawski

While all of the novels in the Clare Carlson Mystery Series stand on their own and can be read in any order, the publication sequence is:

Yesterday’s News
Below the Fold
The Last Scoop
Beyond the Headlines (coming May 2021)

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781608093571
Publisher: Oceanview Publishing
Publication date: 05/05/2020
Series: Clare Carlson Mystery Series , #3
Edition description: None
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 159,813
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.20(h) x 1.40(d)

About the Author

R. G. Belsky is an author of crime fiction and a journalist in New York City. He has been a top editor at the New York Post, NY Daily News, Star Magazine, and NBC News. The Last Scoop is the third novel in his award-winning Clare Carlson Mystery Series, following Yesterday’s News and Below the Fold. Belsky resides in New York City.

Customer Reviews