The Last to See Me: A Novel

The Last to See Me: A Novel

by M Dressler

Hardcover

$20.69 $22.99 Save 10% Current price is $20.69, Original price is $22.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, October 23  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Overview

The Last to See Me: A Novel by M Dressler

A spell-binding literary ghost story in the vein of Nova Ren Suma, Cat Winters and Lauren Oliver.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781510720671
Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing
Publication date: 09/05/2017
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 239,510
Product dimensions: 5.60(w) x 8.50(h) x 1.50(d)

About the Author

M Dressler's work has been praised by the New York Times as "splendid" and by Library Journal as the writing of a "natural-born storyteller." She is the critically-acclaimed author of novels, novellas, and essays, and her stories and nonfiction have appeared in the Kenyon Review, Creative Nonfiction, and Lit Hub, among others. Her honors include the Fulbright Fellowship and the Paisano Fellowship in Literature, as well as writing residencies at Hedgebrook and the Carson McCullers Center. She is a professor and current writer-in-residence at Guilford College in North Carolina. She lives in Greensboro, North Carolina and in Moab, Utah.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Last to See Me: A Novel 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Keep me interested to very last page!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is nowhere near my typical subject matter but I loved this book. Haunting, stylish, and masterful at suspending disbelief. Great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Emma Rose Finnis is a survivor. She survived a hard life of servitude and humiliation by her force of will and she survived a frightening death just as she was about to break free to lead a new life. For a hundred years she has been haunting the town where she lived and died, flitting from here to there, visiting the residents for generations and commenting on the foibles of humans. She has seen other ghosts come and go, too--victims of ghost hunters, and she has learned to avoid their fate as well. But she misbehaves once too often and botches a real estate deal, causing the seller to bring in an experienced hunter who is dedicated to obliterating her. The ensuing battle reveals much of Emma Rose's mysterious life and her afterlife. The townspeople, living and dead, become participants in the battle. The lines blur between good and evil as the characters take on each other in their struggle to just BE. It is a well crafted story with well drawn characters and scenes you'll long remember and one that I look forward to rereading to savor the wit and wisdom of Emma Rose.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Evocative, beautifully written, and highly imaginative story from the unique perspective of the ghost of a young maid haunting a seaside Victorian-era mansion and the ghost hunter hired to evict her so the place can be remodeled to draw tourists. Seamlessly blending the past and present, Dressler weaves a captivating spell where the dead can linger--and do real harm--through sheer force of will and revenge is a legacy passed down through generations. The story ends on a satisfying twist that will long linger in my imagination. Very highly recommended.
Deb-Krenzer More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this ghost story. I felt as if Emma Rose (the ghost) was a true person and felt such sorrow for her past. The story is told through Emma Rose's eyes. A ghost who has been haunting the Lambry mansion for years trying to get someone to recognize her and her life. A sad, entertaining and just right interesting story that I thoroughly enjoyed. Thanks to Skyhorse Publishing and Edelweiss for providing me with a free e-galley in exchange for an honest, unbiased review.