The Little French Guesthouse

The Little French Guesthouse

by Helen Pollard

Paperback

$11.98 $11.99 Save 0% Current price is $11.98, Original price is $11.99. You Save 0%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, October 23  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Overview

The Little French Guesthouse by Helen Pollard

Sun, croissants and fine wine. Nothing can spoil the perfect holiday. Or can it?

When Emmy Jamieson arrives at La Cour des Roses, a beautiful guesthouse in the French countryside, she can't wait to spend two weeks relaxing with boyfriend Nathan. Their relationship needs a little TLC and Emmy is certain this holiday will do the trick. But they've barely unpacked before he scarpers with Gloria, the guesthouse owner's cougar wife.

Rupert, the ailing guesthouse owner, is shell-shocked. Feeling somewhat responsible, and rather generous after a bottle (or so) of wine, heartbroken Emmy offers to help. Changing sheets in the gîtes will help keep her mind off her misery.

Thrust into the heart of the local community, Emmy suddenly finds herself surrounded by new friends. And with sizzling hot gardener Ryan and the infuriating (if gorgeous) accountant Alain providing welcome distractions, Nathan is fast becoming a distant memory.

Fresh coffee and croissants for breakfast, feeding the hens in the warm evening light; Emmy starts to feel quite at home. But it would be madness to walk away from her friends, family, and everything she's ever worked for, to take a chance on a place she fell for on holiday - wouldn't it?

Fans of Jenny Colgan, Lucy Diamond and Nick Alexander will want to join Emmy for a glass of wine as the sun sets on the terrace at La Cour des Roses.

Praise for The Little French Guesthouse
'Like sunshine on a cloudy day this is a book to warm your heart. I loved it.' Shellyback Books

'Could not put down this fabulous book, peppered with humour and characters you can relate to. A wonderful, laugh out loud summer read. One to share with friends and recommend to strangers.' Renita D'Silva

'What a lovely gem of a book ... I picked this book up during a particularly intense period at work and it was the perfect book - gentle and warm with some lovely characters and a good bit of eye candy ... perfect for a pick-me-up/ summer read where you just want to lose yourself in the story.' The Met Line Reader

'A delightful story about love, community, getting over a crappy boyfriend and starting over. Had me snorting with laughter.' For the Love of Books

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781910751886
Publisher: Bookouture
Publication date: 04/28/2016
Pages: 344
Sales rank: 574,008
Product dimensions: 5.06(w) x 7.81(h) x 0.72(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Little French Guesthouse 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Lilac_Wolf More than 1 year ago
A Lilac Wolf and Stuff Review **I was given an ebook copy from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review** I felt this story had a slow start. I don't know...it wasn't badly written. It just felt a little overdone, cliché. We've got Emmy, a good English lady who is in a long-term relationship with a blockhead named Nathan. The story starts with Emmy looking for Gloria (Rupert's wife) to get her to call an ambulance for Rupert and she walks in on her boyfriend and Gloria going at it. Well, that actually is a unique way to start a break-up. They are on holiday in France and this is what he pulls? When he leaves her for Gloria, she stays behind to help Rupert get better and run his business as she is still on holiday. She feels responsible as her boyfriend helped cause this mess. Emmy is really a thoughtful, lovely person. Once I got over it feeling contrived, it really did take off for me. I loved all the characters, and it was such a sweet story. I even teared up a little at a speech Rupert gives about Emmy. I fell in love with this story by the end and I didn't want to leave any more than Emmy did - lol. I'd call this a beach read, it's quick and not too heavy and light on the romance.
Musings_of_Madjy More than 1 year ago
I received a digital ARC from the publisher through NetGalley.com for an honest, unbiased review. My opinion is my own. There is one word that continuously came to my mind as I read this, and that word is: Charming. This is the kind of story that really envelops you and makes you adore the quirky characters. Well, except Nathan. He isn't really likable at all, but that's hardly a surprise considering you meet him while he's shtupping the wife of his B&B host while on a romantic holiday with the protagonist. :) There is a great atmosphere in this story, so that you really get a sense of the surroundings, the friendly people Emmy encounters, and just why someone might never want to leave. And yet it's more than just escapism because it all feels very plausible. There is nothing here, short of perhaps the first 10% which sets up the story, that I think could be considered outrageous. It's so comfortable and feels almost familiar. The friendship that grew between Emmy and Rupert was very sweet and seemed so genuine it made me smile. The only thing that I was less excited about was Emmy and Alain. But only because there just wasn't enough! I wanted more, especially after the trip to the zoo. I wish Alain's character had been featured a bit more throughout. Overall, this is a seriously charming story in an idyllic setting that I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for something relatively light and quick to read.