The Lost Island - Free Preview (first 11 chapters): A Gideon Crew Novel

The Lost Island - Free Preview (first 11 chapters): A Gideon Crew Novel

by Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child

NOOK BookFree Preview (eBook - Free Preview)

FREE

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781455559442
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Publication date: 06/03/2014
Series: Gideon Crew Series
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 76,798
File size: 767 KB

About the Author

The thrillers of Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child "stand head and shoulders above their rivals" (Publishers Weekly). Preston and Child's Relic and The Cabinet of Curiosities were chosen by readers in a National Public Radio poll as being among the one hundred greatest thrillers ever written, and Relic was made into a number-one box office hit movie. They are coauthors of the famed Pendergast series and their recent novels include Fever Dream, Cold Vengeance, Two Graves, and Gideon's Corpse. Preston's acclaimed nonfiction book, The Monster of Florence, is being made into a movie starring George Clooney. Lincoln Child is a former book editor who has published five novels of his own, including the huge bestseller Deep Storm.
Readers can sign up for The Pendergast File, a monthly "strangely entertaining note" from the authors, at their website, www.PrestonChild.com. The authors welcome visitors to their alarmingly active Facebook page, where they post regularly.

Place of Birth:

Cambridge, Massachusetts

Education:

B.A., Pomona College, 1978

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Lost Island - Free Preview (first 11 chapters): A Gideon Crew Novel 2.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The free book for today, June 6, 2014, is The Intercept by Dick Wolf. B&N is not trying to hide anything or trick anyone. They are promoting a book that they hope you would buy after you read the free sample.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There are only 1 chapters, but there is also another complete book offered for Free Friday this week! Check again!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thank you B&N for offering this free preview in ADDITION TO the regular Free Fridays book this week, The Intercept by Dick Wolf. Looking forward to checking out this series by Lincoln & Child.
junebell More than 1 year ago
Check out the free Fridays again. The Intercept is the free one. The Lost Island is just a free preview book to introduce a new book. That's all. Once again the free book is The Intercept. B&N is not being sneaky. The Lost Island said it's just a preview. Hope this helps those of you who are upset.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You people should just read this novel yourselves and write your own review on this novel. I enjoyed reading this novel very much. ShelleyMA
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While it may be interesting, it was annoyingly boring so, I can't say that I'm at all interested in purchasing the full version.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm eagerly waiting for the rest of the book to be published. I love all of the books written by tis duo.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought this preview was really good. I usually don't like books like this, because there is so much back story beforehand, so it starts off very slow. But this one jumps right into the action. So far, only giving any back story when it's relevant. By the end of the first chapter, they are already conspiring to steal the book. By then end of the 11th chapter, I was so bummed that there was no more. I think Gideon Crew is a very direct, yet likeable guy. I hope there is more interaction with him and the professor lady. I can't wait to buy this book.
Alicia4 More than 1 year ago
Very much enjoyed!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
tinaemeralds More than 1 year ago
Haven't read the book yet but looking forward to it. On the FreeFriday page, it distinctly says FreeSample. What is different is that it is at the top of the listing instead of the bottom. The free Friday book is at the bottom of the list paired with the Free APP. The free sample is for a book that is not even released yet, so feel lucky you got to see it first!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kiss your hand post this on three other books and look under your pillow
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Why offer an incomplete free Friday BOOK??? Only the 1st 11 chapters?? Very disappointed.
AvidReader6 More than 1 year ago
What is going on? B&N knows we who buy books regularly look forward to their "Free Friday's Nook Book." I do not want a few chapters and then have to pay for the whole book later to read those chapters again. A sample or preview does not constitute a "Free Friday's Nook Book." I look forward to "Free Friday's Nook Books." I am not happy and disappointed in B&N to pull this.
baldyFD More than 1 year ago
Could not read this book due to the free book never showed up on my Nook HD after many tries.
Surpur More than 1 year ago
This is not very nice to give out free samples that I can get anytime as a Friday book! Ridiculous. Also why are your Nook books on average $2 to $3 more then the same Kindle books?? Are you Trying to drive customers away??
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
don't want a partial book
m4rilyn More than 1 year ago
Don't call it a bonus free friday book if it is only a sample.  Call it a sample.  I'm not going to read one chapter, so I don't know if it is a good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This used to be called "Bait and Switch" and it was against the law. B&N you're better than this. I'm sure your  making enough money that you don't have to resort to old as the hills con games.
jvandix1 More than 1 year ago
Its not the product...its the free Friday BOOK.....advertised when I bought my Nook as getting a BOOK every Friday, not a preview!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hope that does not continue. That is why i bought the nook oveer the kindle!