The Lucky Few: Finding God's Best in the Most Unlikely Places

The Lucky Few: Finding God's Best in the Most Unlikely Places

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780310345497
Publisher: Zondervan
Publication date: 03/21/2017
Sold by: HarperCollins Publishing
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 224
Sales rank: 498,205
File size: 524 KB

About the Author

Heather is the author of The Lucky Few and a popular speaker, podcaster, and Instagrammer. She is a wife to her loving and supportive husband, Josh, and mother to Macyn, Truly, and August. They live in Southern California.

Table of Contents

Foreword Lysa TerKeurst 13

Introduction 15

1 This Was Not the Plan 17

2 First Light 33

3 A Scary Yes 49

4 Coming to Grips 67

5 Life in the Shadow of Death 83

6 Pictures and Letters and So Much More 105

7 Witness to a Miracle 121

8 Arms Wide Open 135

9 Love in Action 149

10 God's Got This 163

11 Joy and Heartbreak 183

12 The Lucky Few 199

Acknowledgments 217

Resources 221

About the Author 223

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Lucky Few: Finding God's Best in the Most Unlikely Places 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beware! Your heart may soften.
Amaack More than 1 year ago
The Lucky Few begins with a look at what infertility looked like for the Avis family. Avis shares the intimate details of processing the letting go of long-held dreams. And through that process, Avis and her husband make the decision to adopt to grow their family. The Lucky Few takes you through the addition of three children to the Avis family. Avis shares the realizations she's had about the beauty and pain of adoption. She lets you see inside her mind to everything that she is processing. Though their family adoption two children with down syndrome and heart defects, and one child with an incredibly complicated past, their story is not one of pain. Avis ultimately shares the joy that she has learned through this journey with God. How it has helped her grow to understand God and his relationship to her better. The Lucky Few was a beautiful look at how adoption changed this family, and many others as a result, for the better. I received a copy of The Lucky Few from NetGalley. This review is my own, honest opinion.
Amaack More than 1 year ago
The Lucky Few begins with a look at what infertility looked like for the Avis family. Avis shares the intimate details of processing the letting go of long-held dreams. And through that process, Avis and her husband make the decision to adopt to grow their family. The Lucky Few takes you through the addition of three children to the Avis family. Avis shares the realizations she's had about the beauty and pain of adoption. She lets you see inside her mind to everything that she is processing. Though their family adoption two children with down syndrome and heart defects, and one child with an incredibly complicated past, their story is not one of pain. Avis ultimately shares the joy that she has learned through this journey with God. How it has helped her grow to understand God and his relationship to her better. The Lucky Few was a beautiful look at how adoption changed this family, and many others as a result, for the better. I received a copy of The Lucky Few from NetGalley. This review is my own, honest opinion.
caeb19 More than 1 year ago
I had never heard of author Heather Avis nor her popular Instagram account, but I was immediately drawn into her book "The Lucky Few: Finding God's Best in the Most Unlikely Places." In the pages of the book Heather shares openly and honestly about their journey through infertility and the way God brought them to adopting their three children, two of whom have Down syndrome. Once I started reading, I had a hard time putting the book down. I appreciated Heather's willingness to share the real story behind the adorable, smiiling family on the cover of the book. I identified with her struggle to relinguish control and trust in God's good plan for her family. I found myself picking up a pen and underlining several times throughout the book, and I of course hopped on Instagram to see more pictures of her sweet little ones. I would definitely recommend grabbing yourself a copy of The Lucky Few. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
JennGrand More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing. Simply amazing. How many times do your plans get thrown out the window because life goes unexpectedly? When Heather and Josh Avis decided to start growing their family, their plans did not include adoption or Down Syndrome. But very quickly they figured out that God's plans, as unexpected as they may be, were better than their wildest dreams. In this vivid and honest telling of their life, Heather and Josh share their story of how when life gives you lemons, the sweetest lemonade can be created. It's inspiring, emotional and empowering, and one that will stay with you for the rest of your life. I highly enjoyed it, and I'm sure anyone who picks it up, will as well!
WaveDave More than 1 year ago
The Lucky Few is a window that gives us a glimpse into the life of Heather Avis and her family's nontraditional & unexpected story of coming together. But even more than that it is a door that invites us into a community and perspective where we say yes and affirm the value and worth of people who are unseen and devalued, specifically those with down syndrome and "special" needs. Heather's account is real and vulnerable in a way that allowed me to process along with her and reflect on the ways I need and want to grow into loving others better. It's such a fast read but a story that will stay with you for a long time! Everyone should read this book!
AngieB619 More than 1 year ago
The Lucky Few is one of those books that once you pick up you don't want to put it down. Then, you can't wait to tell everyone you know about it. It is a book about family and faith. It is about saying yes to God even when it's hard, it's about adoption, and it's about Down Syndrome. It's one of the most heartfelt books I've ever had the pleasure of reading.
PDXCourtney More than 1 year ago
I wanted to cherish this book and chew on it slowly but instead, I plopped down on the couch as soon as I got home from work and read it cover to cover. Yes, it’s that good. This family, I've had the pleasure of attending church with, their children, who melt my heart, and this book, full of God's truth and glory, have impacted my faith and my adoption story in more ways than I ever could have expected. I am so thankful for this family and Heather's vulnerability, sharing the real, raw, not always pretty side of following God's story line. I'm so excited for the conversations that will start, the hearts that will be impacted and the village that will grow with this story. A must read for anyone!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You guys. This book is INCREDIBLE. I don't love reading and I finished it in 2 days. It is a game changer and I encourage everyone to read it! No matter what stage in life that you're in, it will speak to you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Lucky Few by Heather Avis gets the lucky honor of being my first book review on the blog! Probably not lucky since this is my first book review since freshmen year of college so we will see how it goes. Bear with me. As I started reading this book, the first thing that I was thinking was that it was so real, so raw and vulnerable. It takes a special person to be able to show others your pain or, what you think are, your failures. I can't help but read this first chapter and think, "What if that's me? What if that happens to me? How will I deal with it? Will I be able to deal with it? Will I be able to admit to others what I believe is a flaw in my body?" Heather dives right and is open about the pain that she went through and how, even though it hurt her, she was able to reflect back on that time and see it was all part of a bigger picture for her future. A quote that resonated with me in the third chapter was, "I still sensed life was lacking, but I couldn't deny life was good." I can't even count how many times I have had this same thought. Often times I see pictures of puppies or nice apartments and think about how much happier or fulfilled I would be if we had a two bedroom apartment, or a new puppy, or a kitten, a stay at home job. But then I reflect on my life and see how happy I already am with my husband, my dog, and my job. I see how these things that I want aren't things that God wants for me at this time in my life. Heather and Josh wanted a healthy baby, but they had no idea that God wanted them to have something completely different. Throughout the beginning, I was so glad to know where Macyn is today and that she is healthy, happy, and in a loving home. I'm not sure if I would have been able to handle the anticipation the first few chapters held not knowing what happens to her story. Reading about the doubts they had about adopting a baby with Down Syndrome is a tough thing to admit to when your main audience is fellow parents and advocates of people with Down Syndrome and other disabilities. I can imagine that most of the population wouldn't even think about adopting a child with a disability and a heart problem, thankfully Heather and Josh looked to God and were able to push past those doubts and have faith that it would all work out okay. Again, I can not say enough how honest this couple is. Through the writings in the book and their relationships with people, especially their children's birth parents, you can clearly see this portrayed. Instead of telling the birth parents what they wanted to hear, Heather and Josh gently told the birth parents the truth about how they felt. If there is one trait that this family possesses, it is honesty. Well that and love and faith. The faith they have in God is truly inspiring. The challenges they face over and over again are met with their unfailing faith. Their unfailing faith is what brought them Macyn, Truly, and August. I can't help but read this story and think, these parents, not the kids, are the lucky few. If you have interest in adoption stories, down syndrome, or unfailing faith, pre-order this book NOW. I highly recommend it. Check out the links below to pre-order the book and a link to their instagram page. They will brighten up your day.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Heather has a gift for telling her family's story and shouting the worth of her children through it. While I knew this from reading her blog through the years, I can not describe how amazing it was to read the full story in a book format! As someone who watched and remembers most of the Avis family's journey to becoming a family of 5, I never thought reading the story would touch my life the way it has. I am so thankful that I have the honor of being in this family's life and getting to watch all the amazing things they have accomplished. I highly recommend The Lucky Few to anyone and everyone!
mojennymo More than 1 year ago
In her first book “The Lucky Few”, Heather Avis takes us along on her journey through infertility, adoption and the unexpected gift of having not one but two children with designer chromosomes. I consider Heather a friend, although we have never met in real life. The Down syndrome community is just awesome that way. So when I was given the opportunity to read her new book before its release I was elated and honored. I expected a book about Down syndrome, but what I read was so much more. This book takes us on the bumpy but beautiful road that ultimately leads Heather and her husband Josh to the adoption of their seriously gorgeous children Macyn, Truly and August. I was surprised to find in the first few chapters that this book really reads like a work of fiction, in a “I can’t wait to see what is going to happen next” kind of way. The way that God knit this family together is so crazy, but in a God crazy kind of way, that makes it a page turner from the Introduction to the Acknowledgements. This story is not just about Down syndrome any more than it is just about the very real struggle of infertility or the seriously risky business of adoption. It is about a woman who, like me, knew she always wanted to be a mom, and a great big God who she chose to trust, sometimes through tears and gritted teeth, every step of the way. Change the names, add a few kids, take away the supportive and handsome husband and mix in foster care and this is my story. But the amazing thing about this book? It will become your story too. Because we all have those beauty from the ashes times in our lives. Yes, they all look different, but the end result is the same. If we choose to trust our God (who’s plans are often different than ours, but ALWAYS better) then we can all find ourselves in some of the most beautiful and hard places, where His light can truly shine. This is the place where He will be glorified and we will be blessed in the most unimaginable ways.