The Man Who Couldn't Die: The Tale of an Authentic Human Being

The Man Who Couldn't Die: The Tale of an Authentic Human Being

NOOK Book(eBook)

$11.49 $13.99 Save 18% Current price is $11.49, Original price is $13.99. You Save 18%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780231546416
Publisher: Columbia University Press
Publication date: 01/29/2019
Series: Russian Library
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 3 MB

About the Author

Olga Slavnikova was born in 1957 in Sverdlovsk (now Ekaterinburg). She is the author of several award-winning novels, including 2017, which won the 2006 Russian Booker prize and was translated into English by Marian Schwartz (2010), and Long Jump, which won the 2018 Yasnaya Polyana Award.

Marian Schwartz translates Russian contemporary and classic fiction, including Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina, and is the principal translator of Nina Berberova.

Marian Schwartz has beentranslating Russian literature for over thirty years, not only fiction butphilosophy, criticism, fine art, and history. She has published many books with such publishers as Harcourt, Knopf,New Directions, Doubleday, Yale University Press, Modern Library, and New YorkReview Books, as well as stories in Two Lines, Grand Street, The LiteraryReview, North American Review, andYale Review, among other magazines, as well as in anthologies.

Olga Slavnikova was born onOctober 23, 1957, in Sverdlovsk, to a family of engineers. She holds a degree in journalism from UralsState University. She has been a memberof the Union of Russian Writers since 1997.

Slavnikova, a novelist and critic, has been publishingprose since 1988. Her first novel, A Dragon-fly Enlarged to the Size of aDog, was on the short list for the Booker Prize (1997) and for theAnti-Booker (1999) and received the P. Bazhov Prize Alone in the Mirror, her second novel,was short-listed for the Anti-Booker and received the Pavel Bazhov Prize. TheMan Who Couldn’t Die, her third novel, won the Apollon Grigoriev Prize and wasshort-listed for both the Belkin Prize and the National Bestseller Prize. Sheis the author of many articles on contemporary literature in all the main“thick journals” and was awarded the Polonsky Prize for her criticism. Since2001, she has been the coordinator for the Debut prize for young writers. r;_

Table of Contents

Introduction by Mark Lipovetsky
The Man Who Couldn’t Die