The Masked Heart (for Jane Austen and Downton Abbey Fans)

The Masked Heart (for Jane Austen and Downton Abbey Fans)

by Karla Darcy

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

Karla Darcy, award winning author and Amazon Bestseller, introduces her new Sweet Deception series.

"Karla Darcy weaves one fabulous Regency Romance after another. Wise, witty and wonderful. Move over Jane for another Darcy you will love!"
Mary Alice Monroe, NY Times author of Beach House Memories

"Fans of Downton Abbey and Jane Austen (without zombies) will adore this book. Karla Darcy makes us remember why we lose sense and sensibility for a sexy Regency hero and captures the era with a glorious and colorful voice!"
Roxanne St. Claire, New York Times Bestselling Author


The Masked Heart is a charming romantic comedy of manners featuring historical England's Regency era London theater and the danger of mistaken identity. If you love Jane Austen and Downton Abbey, you'll love this humorous Regency romance, The Masked Heart!

Miss Blaine Meriweather is a young woman of good family whose estate is in financial shambles. How will she care for her brother and sister? Out of options, she becomes the astonishing actress La Solitaire! Imagine the scandal if anyone discovers her identity! Blaine's wild success saves her family. All should be well. The only thing she hadn't counted on was Lord Farrington, who is determined to make La Solitaire his mistress! Blaine's finest acting is required to save her virtue, her family, and their honor. It would have been so easy, if only Blaine hadn't fallen in love....

"... superbly manages this complicated plot, developing a host of varied characterizations to titillate our palates."
Romantic Times

Readers Award The Masked Heart 5 stars!

"Love it! Love it! Love it!" Riley

"A Great Find!" D.G.

"Just What I Needed!" Alexis Beckwith


Readers Rave:

"Karla Darcy weaves one fabulous Regency Romance after another. Wise and witty and better than Jane Austen, I love Karla's books!"

"This is a book I will read again and again over the years because it is so delightful."


Related collections and offers

Product Details

BN ID: 2940016264882
Publisher: Glades Publishing
Publication date: 03/04/2013
Series: Pride Meets Prejudice , #2
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 939,482
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Karla Darcy lives with her husband, several tame geckos and an occasional friendly snake on the Treasure Coast on the east side of Florida. She has always felt she lived in the Regency period in a past life. Her early writings were musical comedies and humor columns so it was an easy transition to the romantic and humorous style of Regencies. Lovely dresses, masked balls and witty conversations, which contained saucy double entendres, were the perfect cup of tea for this author.

Karla discovered years ago that you don't have to be a bitch to write a Regency but it helps. Tone is everything in the era of witty repartee. Dialogue has to have that snap that makes Regency conversations sparkle.

Customer Reviews