The Replaced (The Taking Series #2)

The Replaced (The Taking Series #2)

by Kimberly Derting

Paperback(Reprint)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, September 26?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

The Replaced (The Taking Series #2) by Kimberly Derting

The gripping second installment in the Taking trilogy is perfect for fans of The Fifth Wave and the Body Finder series. Explosive and romantic, with creepy, otherworldly elements and twisty, psychological thrills, The Replaced will have you questioning what exactly it means to be human.

Kyra hasn’t been the same since she returned from her mysterious five-year disappearance. Now on the run from the NSA, Kyra is forced to hide out with others who, like her, have been Returned. Yet she is determined to find Tyler, the boy she loves who was also abducted…all because of her. When her group intercepts a message that Tyler might still be alive, Kyra risks everything to get him back. But he is being held by a shadowy government organization that experiments on the Returned, and going after him puts the rest of the group in danger. Even if Kyra gets Tyler back, the fight to save him—and the rest of the Returned—is just beginning.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062293640
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 05/10/2016
Series: Kimberly Derting's Taking Series , #2
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 281,561
Product dimensions: 5.31(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.86(d)
Age Range: 14 Years

About the Author

Kimberly Derting is the author of the Body Finder series, the Pledge trilogy, and the Taking series. She lives in the Pacific Northwest, where the gloomy weather is ideal for writing anything dark and creepy. Her three beautiful (and often mouthy) children serve as an endless source of inspiration and frequently find things they say buried in the pages of their mother’s books. You can visit her online at www.kimberlyderting.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Replaced 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Brooke-The-Cover-Contessa More than 1 year ago
I want to thank Harper Teen for supplying me with a copy of this book to read and give an honest review. Receiving this book for free has in no way altered my opinion or review. I absolutely adored The Taking. The characters, the plot, the everything. And then, when it ended on a bit of a cliffhanger, I had to have the next book. So jumping into this one was no effort at all. If you haven't read the first book in the series, STOP HERE! This review will contain spoilers for that book! So turn around, go back to the first book and READ IT! This book picks right back up where the first left off. Kyra has lost her father and Tyler. And now she's part of the rebel crew trying to outwit and outrun the NSA. You can imagine this does not come easy. Kyra remains the tough as nails girl we knew in the first book. She's intent of finding Tyler. Her life since she was returned has been filled with much heartache. so losing him was the icing on the cake. She spends much of the book wondering where he is and how things will be when they are reunited. I don't see her change much in this book until the very end. But I won't get into that too much because I don't want to spoil things. One thing she works on during this book is honing her power. It's something that could be of great use if she just knew how to control it. We get to know Simon a bit better in this book. We see where he has come from and learn a bit about his background. We also see him develop a strong pull to Kyra. Since Tyler is not in the picture Kyra feels the pull back. But she squashes it because all she wants is Tyler. The pacing of this book was a bit slow for me. I was not as riveted as I was in the first book. There is less action, more development of characters and relationships. We also meet a bunch of new characters, which gave the book a more interesting feel. And, of course, there are traitors in the mist, which Kyra and her crew don't figure out until very close the end of the book. There is a big twist in the plot of this book, about who Kyra actually is, which explains the title. But you'll just have to read it to find out exactly what I mean. I didn't love this book as much as the first for sure. I was missing characters and, while I was happy to meet new people, I still wanted to see some of the old ones from the first book. Some did eventually appear, but it's not until later in the book and I really would have liked to see it earlier. Overall I really enjoyed this book and I can't wait to read the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BlkosinerBookBlog More than 1 year ago
2.5 good (enough)      I wanted to read the replaced because I remember really enjoying the first one. even though I really don't have a whole lot of memory about it besides I liked the romance all the complication of her disappearing and then coming back as well as the whole alien angle.    It got right back into the mix of the story with her at a camp for the returned people who have been taken by aliens and then brought back to Earth. she's with some guys I guess you met last time and she really believe that they had gotten into the aliens security system somehow and she got a message from her dad but the guys with her didn't believe her and it really frustrated her that what she saw from them was pity. Their mission brought the action level up a notch, and it was slowly integrated into the story the details from the first, and I remembered things or just was able to follow along as the story progresses.     There were a few twists in the story, and I was reeling from a few of the things revealed. Some of the people from Kyra's past and how they work into the story. I wasn't sure how I felt about that as well as the semi forming other attraction.       But honestly, I think that The Replaced had a few "big" reveals that just didn't shock me and couldn't figure out why it did Kyra and company. And it fell into a bit of the formulaic second book syndrome-- oh look, we have a main character who has to go into hiding with some of the people that she met at end of first book, not sure who we can trust, go on several road trips following half leads, face off with the nemesis, escape, rescue mission, oh look, here we are in the car again. Then a reveal and the ending.     While I didn't hate this and did want to get through to the ending hoping for Tyler's appearance, I just wasn't enamored. Not sure if I will continue with the series because of one of the twists. Bottom Line: Some surprises but mostly the paranormal second book syndrome in play.