The Seasonable Angler: Journeys Through a Fisherman's Year

The Seasonable Angler: Journeys Through a Fisherman's Year

by Nick Lyons


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details


The Seasonable Angler: Journeys Through a Fisherman's Year by Nick Lyons

Nick Lyons’s first fishing book, The Seasonable Angler , is the story of a fisherman’s year, from the projects and fantasies of an angler’s winter through the thrill of a June evening’s rise on the Beaverkill, and on to the pleasures and melancholia of autumn trout fishing.

In a book of spirited contrasts, Nick Lyons recounts hilarious misadventures on opening day and on family trips, as well as quiet moments when the fisherman becomes contemplative and close to nature. Lyons captures the excitement of catching a first trout—and the sadness of having killed, at times, too many fish. There is an increasing respect for the natural world, for conservation, and for the spirit of the sport.

Throughout The Seasonable Angler , Lyons evokes the humor and lore of a man who has loved fishing deeply since early childhood. His book is not only for avid fishermen, but also for everyone who appreciates fine writing about nature and who wants to understand what animates that strong clan of people who fish.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781620878118
Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing
Publication date: 06/01/2013
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 192
Sales rank: 830,461
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.30(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Nick Lyons is the editor of Hemingway on Fishing, The Best Fishing Stories Ever Told, The Quotable Fisherman, and The Little Red Book of Dad's Wisdom. He has written over twenty books, mainly on fishing, in addition to hundreds of articles on the subject, which have appeared in such magazines as Harper’s, Outside, Field & Stream, Outdoor Life, and Fly Fisherman. He splits his time between New York City and Woodstock, New York.

Table of Contents

Foreword to the 2013 edition vii

Preface xi

1 Winter Dreams and Wakening 1

2 The Lure of Opening Day 28

3 The Rich Diversity of Spring 65

4 Family Interludes 89

5 Mecca 110

6 Dog-Day Redemptions 131

7 Autumn Trouting 158

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews